Recipe Sifter

X
  • Start Here
    • Course
    • Main Ingredient
    • Cuisine
    • Preparation
    • Occasion
    • Diet
    • Nutrition
1

Select () or exclude () categories to narrow your recipe search.

2

As you select categories, the number of matching recipes will update.

Make some selections to begin narrowing your results.
  • Calories
  • Amount per serving
    1. Total Fat
    2. Saturated Fat
    3. Polyunsat. Fat
    4. Monounsat. Fat
    5. Trans Fat
  • Cholesterol
  • Sodium
  • Potassium
  • Total Carbohydrates
    1. Dietary Fiber
    2. Sugars
  • Protein
  • Vitamin A
  • Vitamin B6
  • Vitamin B12
  • Vitamin C
  • Calcium
  • Iron
  • Vitamin E
  • Magnesium
  • Alcohol
  • Caffeine
  • Find exactly what you're looking for with the web's most powerful recipe filtering tool.

    You are in: Home / Chinese / Chinese Hot and Sour Pork Soup Recipe
    Lost? Site Map

    Chinese Hot and Sour Pork Soup

    Average Rating:

    52 Total Reviews

    Showing 1-20 of 52

    Sort by:

    • on February 01, 2001

      My boyfriend and i were very pleased with this recipe. he is half chinese so he knows the good stuff. the only thing we changed was the amount of chili paste. we only put one tablespoon instead of 2. the soup is very very spicy with 2 tblsp's. other than that it was great. the flavor is awesome. my boyfriend said that it tasted just like his mom's. that is a great compliment. amity

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on April 23, 2002

      With a few adjustments this is the best I have ever made. I've searched far and wide for a good recipe, and here it is. I added two additional cups of broth. Used 2 tablespoons of corn starch, two eggs, and a splash more vinegar. I agree that using the two tablespoons of chili sauce makes it really really hot, but I like it that way. Served it with sticky rice. It was tremendous. What a find. Thanks for posting this recipe.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on January 16, 2001

      Great recipe for anyone who like it as close as it come to the real thing! Very simple to make and you can find all the ingredents in your local supermarket! I myself would cut back on the white pepper and add a little bit of hot oil (not to much)! I would also add about 1 1/2 tbls more of vineger. (or to taste) add a little more meat and you can serve with a bowl of white rice with steamed veggies for a meal of its own.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on February 16, 2002

      Excellent recipe, however I used only one egg & cut back on the corn starch. I've also used canned chinese stir-fry vegetables (bamboo shoots, water chestnuts, mushrooms & bean sprouts) & frozen shrimp in this soup for variation & ease.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on January 06, 2010

      We love to order hot and sour soup in the restaurant, so I was a bit leary of trying this at home. I knew my family would be tough to please when it came to this soup. I read through the instructions and thought I will try it. I am so glad I did....this is so good. I used my homemade chicken stock, and instead of straw mushrooms I used button mushrooms (what I had on hand), otherwise followed your recipe exactly. We really loved this and I plan on making this quite often when we make a chinese style meal. Thank you so much for posting this.

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on November 01, 2008

      Absolutely delicious! Relying on some of the other reviews, I used only 1 tsp. of cornstarch and 1 tbsp. of garlic chili paste, and when taste-testing it was not spicy enough (my family likes strong taste) so I ended up using 2 tbsp paste as the recipe said. I also increased the soy to 3 tbsp and used 1/3 cup rice vinegar in place of 1/4 cup white vinegar. I also used low-sodium soy sauce, which worked fine. This was wonderful, flavorful and very authentic-tasting. Thanks for a great recipe!

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on February 24, 2013

      Spot on!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on January 31, 2013

      I was unable to find the black fungi but the recipe turned out GREAT! I've tried dozens of recipes and none can compare to this one. It's a keeper.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on November 02, 2012

      We really enjoyed this soup. My 15y/o daughter has been jonesing for Hot & Sour soup so off I went to find a recipe. My 14 LOVED it, the grownups did too! I used 2 eggs, all dried mushrooms which I hydrated, added both chicken and tofu. I was not thick from the corn starch or too salty or too tangy from the vinegar. It was a golden brown color and very appealing. Super good on day 2 for lunch! It's a winner all the way around. Thanks for sharing Nancy!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on May 16, 2012

      great flavor - I made it fully vegan so omitted the pork and egg and used vegetarian base. I would def. tone down the heat a bit for most audiences. I love the spice but it was even hot for me.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on February 03, 2011

      Ok so this is an ok recipe I added some stuff and mine tastes like it came from a restaurant black fungus lily flower buds and a few other things and it perfect

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on June 12, 2010

      Just as good as any Chinese restaurant soup! Excellent flavor and overall taste!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on December 20, 2009

    • on December 13, 2009

      When I visited China I ate a lot of hot and sour soup, mostly because I could be more sure of the ingredients! This is the closest I've found to the taste of the soup there, better than any restaurant soup I've tried. I make it with extra garlic chile mix and no meat. Only problem is, I haven't found dried black fungus. Maybe it would be even better?

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on October 28, 2009

      Oh. My. This is the holy grail of Hot and Sour Soup. Fried up a batch of wonton strips and everybody had seconds. This is a definite keeper.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on October 25, 2009

      It was just what we were looking for! I didn't have some of the mushrooms and skipped the tofu but it was great! We'll definitely be making this recipe again. As one of the other reviewers mentioned, we cut back the Chili to 1.5 tbsp and it was just the right heat.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on March 21, 2009

      I just finished making this for dinner tonight and just had to taste it. What a flavor sensation. I didn't see where it said to add the carrots so I put them in with the bamboo shoots, and water chestnuts. I used 1 T garlic red chili sauce, 1/4 c. egg substitute and only had button mushrooms and dried shitake and also no tofu. This is one dynamite hot and sour soup. I can't wait until I have all the correct ingredients. This is great as I made it though.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on January 23, 2009

      I can't believe I have never left a rating on this absolutely fabulous recipe. I've made it for years and everyone just raves over it. The recipe has been passed out numerous times. It is the BEST hot and sour soup I have ever had and that includes in Chinese restaurants. It is my go to recipe, period. We like it hot so I used 3 tablespoons of the garlic/chili sauce. I omitted the carrots and used 2 beaten eggs instead of the more healthy egg substitute. Regarding the cornstarch, I just keep adding the slurry until it looks to be the right consistency. Everything else is as the recipe recommends....including the black fungus...or wood ear mushrooms. Thanks so much, Nancy.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on January 19, 2009

      I am pretty easy to please when it comes to food but I was pretty disappointed with this recipe. I thought with all the positive reviews here it would be restaurant-quality. Boy was I wrong! I followed this recipe exactly, omitting the water chestnut and carrots, but I still found it too bitter. I would back off on the vinegar but I can't think of any other way to improve this recipe. It was just plain awful! I will pay $1 for a cup of awesome authentic hot & sour at my local Chinese restaurant from now on.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on September 01, 2008

      Takes a bit of time to make, but it is one of the greats for hot and sour.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    « Previous 1 2 3

    Advertisement

    Nutritional Facts for Chinese Hot and Sour Pork Soup

    Serving Size: 1 (748 g)

    Servings Per Recipe: 4

    Amount Per Serving
    % Daily Value
    Calories 368.6
     
    Calories from Fat 117
    31%
    Total Fat 13.0 g
    20%
    Saturated Fat 2.9 g
    14%
    Cholesterol 31.1 mg
    10%
    Sodium 1459.3 mg
    60%
    Total Carbohydrate 32.0 g
    10%
    Dietary Fiber 2.9 g
    11%
    Sugars 10.4 g
    41%
    Protein 31.6 g
    63%

    The following items or measurements are not included:

    garlic and red chile paste

    shiitake mushrooms

    dried black fungus

    Advertisement


    Over 475,000 Recipes

    Food.com Network of Sites