52 Reviews

  • Most Helpful
  • Newest
  • Highest Rating

My boyfriend and i were very pleased with this recipe. he is half chinese so he knows the good stuff. the only thing we changed was the amount of chili paste. we only put one tablespoon instead of 2. the soup is very very spicy with 2 tblsp's. other than that it was great. the flavor is awesome. my boyfriend said that it tasted just like his mom's. that is a great compliment. amity

17 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
amity bradley February 01, 2001

With a few adjustments this is the best I have ever made. I've searched far and wide for a good recipe, and here it is. I added two additional cups of broth. Used 2 tablespoons of corn starch, two eggs, and a splash more vinegar. I agree that using the two tablespoons of chili sauce makes it really really hot, but I like it that way. Served it with sticky rice. It was tremendous. What a find. Thanks for posting this recipe.

8 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Bob Crouch April 23, 2002

Great recipe for anyone who like it as close as it come to the real thing! Very simple to make and you can find all the ingredents in your local supermarket! I myself would cut back on the white pepper and add a little bit of hot oil (not to much)! I would also add about 1 1/2 tbls more of vineger. (or to taste) add a little more meat and you can serve with a bowl of white rice with steamed veggies for a meal of its own.

8 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Lowel Goss January 16, 2001

Excellent recipe, however I used only one egg & cut back on the corn starch. I've also used canned chinese stir-fry vegetables (bamboo shoots, water chestnuts, mushrooms & bean sprouts) & frozen shrimp in this soup for variation & ease.

5 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Steve1 February 16, 2002

We love to order hot and sour soup in the restaurant, so I was a bit leary of trying this at home. I knew my family would be tough to please when it came to this soup. I read through the instructions and thought I will try it. I am so glad I did....this is so good. I used my homemade chicken stock, and instead of straw mushrooms I used button mushrooms (what I had on hand), otherwise followed your recipe exactly. We really loved this and I plan on making this quite often when we make a chinese style meal. Thank you so much for posting this.

1 person found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
mommyoffour January 06, 2010

Absolutely delicious! Relying on some of the other reviews, I used only 1 tsp. of cornstarch and 1 tbsp. of garlic chili paste, and when taste-testing it was not spicy enough (my family likes strong taste) so I ended up using 2 tbsp paste as the recipe said. I also increased the soy to 3 tbsp and used 1/3 cup rice vinegar in place of 1/4 cup white vinegar. I also used low-sodium soy sauce, which worked fine. This was wonderful, flavorful and very authentic-tasting. Thanks for a great recipe!

1 person found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
ORTNmom November 01, 2008

AWESOME !!!!! I will never buy hot & sour soup from a restaraunt again ! i added some wasabi bean sauce & and japanese pepper pods to heat it up a bit more but apart from that it was SPOT ON

1 person found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Hotwingcooker March 13, 2007

Spot on!

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
jamielbeatty February 24, 2013

I was unable to find the black fungi but the recipe turned out GREAT! I've tried dozens of recipes and none can compare to this one. It's a keeper.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
08winkler January 31, 2013

We really enjoyed this soup. My 15y/o daughter has been jonesing for Hot & Sour soup so off I went to find a recipe. My 14 LOVED it, the grownups did too! I used 2 eggs, all dried mushrooms which I hydrated, added both chicken and tofu. I was not thick from the corn starch or too salty or too tangy from the vinegar. It was a golden brown color and very appealing. Super good on day 2 for lunch! It's a winner all the way around. Thanks for sharing Nancy!

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Chicagoland Chef du Jour November 02, 2012
Chinese Hot and Sour Pork Soup