17 Reviews

What a wonderful casserole! I followed the recipe exactly except I used green onions instread because that is what I had on hand and I wanted to use them up. Loved the combination of flavors!!!This is a very easy on-dish meal that I will be making over and over again. Thanks so much Chicagopm!! :-)

2 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Merlot April 01, 2003

This went over pretty well here, all in all. It didn't look anywhere close to getting done after 30 minutes, so I dumped it into a pan, added some water and covered it to let it finish that way. That worked out well. If I do this again, I'll probably just make the ground beef/soup stuff on the stove, use cooked rice, and then bake the final little bit with the noodles on top. I served it with steamed broc. that I tossed some garlic, soy sauce, and slivered almonds into. Good little meal that my family would probably go for again. Thanks for something new to try out!

1 person found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
SmoochTheCook September 24, 2009

My mother used to make this but the rice was cooked in the pot with the hamburger, soup mixture. Not the prettiest looking dish, but one of my favorites.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
angeliciousrox January 07, 2013

This is one of those 'go to" recipes that everyone needs! It's simple and tasty and I even make it simpler. I brown the beef and add a 28 oz can of La Choy Chop Suey vegetables instead of adding mushrooms, celery, and onion. It's easy and it's good. What more would anyone need?

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
cgmonster November 27, 2012

This recipe is a really wonderful comfort food. I modified it to fit ingredients, which I had on hand. I used cream of celery and broccoli cheese soups. I also substituted ground chicken instead of beef. I added carrots for additional nutritional value and added a canned stir fry chinese mix. I mixed it with cooked egg noodles rather than rice before finishing up in the oven. I did not cook the entire 60 minutes in the oven as I stir fried all of the fresh vegetables with the ground chicken. I added this recipe to my personal favorites and will use it often, especially this winter! Thanks, Chicagoopm, for sharing!

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
MrsJ September 16, 2009

Upon reading this recipe it reminded me of the Campbell's Soup Casseroles my mom used to make in the 70's and 80's! I was pleasantly suprised with how good it tasted...the celery and mushrooms were great additions. I chopped up two onions and thought that that may be too much so I just added one cup but that was the only change I made. We served it over rice with some home canned green beans. My kids ate it right up, my daughter's friend had seconds and my husband had two huge helpings. Perfect comfort food for a chilly evening!

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
QueenJellyBean December 09, 2008

I decided not to give this a star rating because I didn't feel that would be quite fair as I didn't have any of the Chinese crispy noodles on hand to make this truly the dish it is intended to be. With that said though, I felt this dish was very heavy, similar to a stroganoff. I used 2 cans of cream of mushroom instead of a can of cream of chicken. I thought this would have been better making the meat separate and then adding rice so that I could distribute more rice for the meat. I felt the ratio was a bit off for me. It's an okay recipe, but it just needs to be tweaked a bit in my opinion. :)

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Sarah&Hannan November 22, 2008

DH LOVED this. I made a few changes. Since I did not have celery, I used a can of cut bamboo shoots and some fresh bean sprouts. I used basmati rice so I added a tad extra water for that. The 2qt casserole didn't seem big enough, I"ll probably use something larger next time. I'll bet this would work in the crock pot. I served this with Restaurant-Style Egg Drop Soup, and steamed green beans with miso dressing. Thanks for posting!

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
yogiclarebear November 08, 2008

I had this once at a church function and just loved it - wonderful winter comfort food! As much as I try to stay away from the "cream of this-and-that soup" stuff, I've tried making this other ways and can't come up with anything more simple and satisfying. I cut the onion up really fine to hide it from my kids. Thanks for a great recipe!

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Gina Farina December 04, 2007

This is one my mother used to make. It is still a big hit with my family. I have even made it for company with great success. I usually will add more soy sauce for extra flavor. And I toss in some sliced mushrooms, bean sprouts & sliced water chestnuts.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Alskann November 28, 2007
Chinese Hamburger Casserole