Recipe Sifter

X
  • Start Here
    • Course
    • Main Ingredient
    • Cuisine
    • Preparation
    • Occasion
    • Diet
    • Nutrition
1

Select () or exclude () categories to narrow your recipe search.

2

As you select categories, the number of matching recipes will update.

Make some selections to begin narrowing your results.
  • Calories
  • Amount per serving
    1. Total Fat
    2. Saturated Fat
    3. Polyunsat. Fat
    4. Monounsat. Fat
    5. Trans Fat
  • Cholesterol
  • Sodium
  • Potassium
  • Total Carbohydrates
    1. Dietary Fiber
    2. Sugars
  • Protein
  • Vitamin A
  • Vitamin B6
  • Vitamin B12
  • Vitamin C
  • Calcium
  • Iron
  • Vitamin E
  • Magnesium
  • Alcohol
  • Caffeine
  • Find exactly what you're looking for with the web's most powerful recipe filtering tool.

    You are in: Home / Chinese / Chinese Hamburger Casserole Recipe
    Lost? Site Map

    Chinese Hamburger Casserole

    Average Rating:

    17 Total Reviews

    Showing 1-17 of 17

    Sort by:

    • on April 01, 2003

      What a wonderful casserole! I followed the recipe exactly except I used green onions instread because that is what I had on hand and I wanted to use them up. Loved the combination of flavors!!!This is a very easy on-dish meal that I will be making over and over again. Thanks so much Chicagopm!! :-)

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on September 24, 2009

      This went over pretty well here, all in all. It didn't look anywhere close to getting done after 30 minutes, so I dumped it into a pan, added some water and covered it to let it finish that way. That worked out well. If I do this again, I'll probably just make the ground beef/soup stuff on the stove, use cooked rice, and then bake the final little bit with the noodles on top. I served it with steamed broc. that I tossed some garlic, soy sauce, and slivered almonds into. Good little meal that my family would probably go for again. Thanks for something new to try out!

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on January 07, 2013

      My mother used to make this but the rice was cooked in the pot with the hamburger, soup mixture. Not the prettiest looking dish, but one of my favorites.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on November 27, 2012

      This is one of those 'go to" recipes that everyone needs! It's simple and tasty and I even make it simpler. I brown the beef and add a 28 oz can of La Choy Chop Suey vegetables instead of adding mushrooms, celery, and onion. It's easy and it's good. What more would anyone need?

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on September 16, 2009

      This recipe is a really wonderful comfort food. I modified it to fit ingredients, which I had on hand. I used cream of celery and broccoli cheese soups. I also substituted ground chicken instead of beef. I added carrots for additional nutritional value and added a canned stir fry chinese mix. I mixed it with cooked egg noodles rather than rice before finishing up in the oven. I did not cook the entire 60 minutes in the oven as I stir fried all of the fresh vegetables with the ground chicken. I added this recipe to my personal favorites and will use it often, especially this winter! Thanks, Chicagoopm, for sharing!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on December 09, 2008

      Upon reading this recipe it reminded me of the Campbell's Soup Casseroles my mom used to make in the 70's and 80's! I was pleasantly suprised with how good it tasted...the celery and mushrooms were great additions. I chopped up two onions and thought that that may be too much so I just added one cup but that was the only change I made. We served it over rice with some home canned green beans. My kids ate it right up, my daughter's friend had seconds and my husband had two huge helpings. Perfect comfort food for a chilly evening!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on November 22, 2008

      I decided not to give this a star rating because I didn't feel that would be quite fair as I didn't have any of the Chinese crispy noodles on hand to make this truly the dish it is intended to be. With that said though, I felt this dish was very heavy, similar to a stroganoff. I used 2 cans of cream of mushroom instead of a can of cream of chicken. I thought this would have been better making the meat separate and then adding rice so that I could distribute more rice for the meat. I felt the ratio was a bit off for me. It's an okay recipe, but it just needs to be tweaked a bit in my opinion. :)

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on November 08, 2008

      DH LOVED this. I made a few changes. Since I did not have celery, I used a can of cut bamboo shoots and some fresh bean sprouts. I used basmati rice so I added a tad extra water for that. The 2qt casserole didn't seem big enough, I"ll probably use something larger next time. I'll bet this would work in the crock pot. I served this with Restaurant-Style Egg Drop Soup, and steamed green beans with miso dressing. Thanks for posting!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on December 04, 2007

      I had this once at a church function and just loved it - wonderful winter comfort food! As much as I try to stay away from the "cream of this-and-that soup" stuff, I've tried making this other ways and can't come up with anything more simple and satisfying. I cut the onion up really fine to hide it from my kids. Thanks for a great recipe!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on November 28, 2007

      This is one my mother used to make. It is still a big hit with my family. I have even made it for company with great success. I usually will add more soy sauce for extra flavor. And I toss in some sliced mushrooms, bean sprouts & sliced water chestnuts.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on November 06, 2007

      I FINALLY FOUND IT! Years of searching for a close second to my mother's Chinese Hamburger Casserole recipe...My mother passed in '96 and along with her went all her time saving and delicious recipes. I was sooo delighted to find this recipe I made it that night. My family loves the combination of flavors and I love the easy prep and clean up! A hit with this family and a very tearful thank you for bringing back a little missed tradition!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on April 04, 2006

      COMFORT FOOD!!! This is it for me. My mom used to make this at least once a month when I was a kid. I still love it. I made this last week after searching through the site. Thank you so much for reminding me.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on March 13, 2006

      Delicious! I omitted the celery and onions and used a well- drained 28 ounce can of Chop Suey vegetables (carrots, onions, water chestnuts, celery, bamboo shoots and bean sprouts) instead.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on November 29, 2004

      This is yummy, I like the contrast of the crunchy noodles

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on March 04, 2004

      One my family will make over and over again. We used extra straw mushrooms. I've already passed this on to my family. This one is a keeper.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on October 31, 2003

      This casserole was to die for. This is comfort food at its finest. I used half fat soups and low sodium soya and added a chopped green pepper. It wasn't salty at all. Thanks for this wonderful recipe. I just loves it.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on January 20, 2003

      I've found a new comfort food! It has a really nice taste, good consistency (not runny at all). The only problem was it's a little bit too salty. I wouldn't reduce the soy sauce, but next time I'm trying low sodium Cream of Mushroom and Cream of Chicken Soups. I used canned mushrooms and half of a very large Spanish onion (cause that's what I had). I topped it with a 3 oz can of Chinese noodles which gave a nice texture to the casserole. I served it with corn and a rice mixture as suggested. The casserole is a definite keeper, but as stated previously, it needs to be adapted a little to my taste.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    « Previous 1 Next »

    Advertisement

    Nutritional Facts for Chinese Hamburger Casserole

    Serving Size: 1 (225 g)

    Servings Per Recipe: 8

    Amount Per Serving
    % Daily Value
    Calories 247.4
     
    Calories from Fat 116
    47%
    Total Fat 12.9 g
    19%
    Saturated Fat 4.5 g
    22%
    Cholesterol 41.5 mg
    13%
    Sodium 824.5 mg
    34%
    Total Carbohydrate 18.0 g
    6%
    Dietary Fiber 1.1 g
    4%
    Sugars 2.3 g
    9%
    Protein 13.9 g
    27%

    The following items or measurements are not included:

    chinese noodles

    Advertisement


    Food.com Network of Sites

    • Mexican Recipes
    • Chinese Recipes
    • Australian Recipes
    • Breakfast Recipes
    • Greek Recipes
    • Restaurant Recipes
    • Italian Recipes
    • Christmas Recipes
    • Thanksgiving Recipes
    • Southern Recipes
    • Dessert Recipes
    • Deep Fried Recipes
    • Thai Recipes
    • Low Cholesterol Recipes
    • Indian Recipes
    • Healthy Recipes
    • Meatloaf Recipes