77 Reviews

  • Most Helpful
  • Newest
  • Highest Rating

Without a doubt, the best egg rolls I have ever eaten. Used the meatier version, added 2 teaspoons of oyster sauce and a few chopped bean sprouts. These were wonderful. I put them on small baking sheets (covered with parchment paper) a dozen at a time and stuck them in the freezer. When the second baking sheet was full with another dozen, I pulled the first dozen out and put them in a 1 gallon zip-lock freezer bag and stuck them back into the freezer. When I'm ready to cook a few, I put them (still frozen) into hot oil and fry (be careful of the splattering grease...use a lid). They come out perfectly every time. Thank you so much for the only egg roll recipe I will ever use.

10 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
MTDavids July 27, 2010

This was the first recipe I tried for my fat-flush diet, since I'm trying to make sure I eat plenty of cabbage. This would be a 5-star rating, except that after I'd rolled the little packages of egg rolls, since it was my first time making them ever, I didn't realize the wrappings would get moist and fall apart, if left for more than a few minutes. I'd had a pile of beautifully wrapped rolls and was devastated when I realized I had to pry apart the soggy mess that developed. It took way too long to work to try to save the mess, but I managed to salvage all of them. So, I would warn any other virgin egg rollers to roll only 2 or 3 'packages', and DON'T put them on top of each other on a plate as you roll them. lol. They were delectable though!! Apart from that mistake I made, since we don't eat pork, I used ground turkey and the whole thing was a rip roaring success in the end. Fought over them with my DH as snacks and appetizers for the next several days. Thanks so much for the recipe!

8 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
I luv the beach June 19, 2010

these are scrumptious!!! i've made these twice so far. i like to make some for dinner and freeze some for anytime we need egg rolls. the first batch i used pork, and the second batch i used ground beef that i had in the freezer. i actually think we liked the beef ones a tad better! i follow the recipe, but i always omit the sugar and cut back a bit on the soy sauce so the mixture isn't so wet. these are the tastiest egg rolls i've ever made. thanks charmie!!!

7 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
KPD May 30, 2010

My friend and I made these together and we both loved them. Next time I will mix some bean sprouts with the cabbage and see what happens. A tip: Intead of wasting an egg, I've used cornstarch and water to "glue" the last bit together. Will make these again. They have the right combination of flavors.

3 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
979199 January 19, 2010

These are excellent egg rolls Charmie! I froze a bunch and had a few. Right now I am trying them baked in the oven. I sprayed them with oil spray on both sides. Hopefully it will work! Thank you for sharing these great tasting little gems. I love the sesame oil in them. Really adds lots of flavor. The only thing I did to deviate from the recipe was use Ponzu sauce instead of soy sauce. It's soy sauce with lime. I love it and it flavored the egg rolls wonderfully. I look forward to having these for snacks when i'm watching tv! Linda

2 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Linda's Busy Kitchen April 21, 2012

Great recipe, well written. I placed mine on a cookie sheet and sprayed with vegetable oil spray and baked theses at 450. They came out crunchy and not greasy and better for you than frying. Thanks for sharing.

2 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
mary winecoff March 08, 2012

This is the second recipe I used in 2 days for making egg rolls. They both are very good. I ate some and froze the rest.
I used beef instead of pork and I used about half of the soy sauce, there is no need to use an egg to seal the flab down just use plain water; otherwise I followed the directions. I never made egg rolls before and only ate them about 2-3 times but I really thought these home made ones were delicious. I definitely will make these again.

2 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Catnip46 October 10, 2011

I love this recipe. It is so delicious. I don't generally make them into egg rolls. I just eat the filling as is. When I do make them into egg rolls I bake them instead of frying them and they are crispy and delicious that way as well.

2 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
sketchcils August 17, 2011

This is the first time I have made egg rolls and this is the last egg roll recipe I will ever need. Oh my gosh, sooooo good!! I used 1/2 pound of shrimp/imitation krab combo and omitted the extra salt, as soy sauce is salty enough for me.
Thank you Charmie777!

2 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
crickert13 March 31, 2011

This recipe is great.
the only thing I would change is: use low sodium soy sauce.
otherwise...its perfect!

ps. I had to swap out the onion for bean sprouts because my hubs is deathly afraid of onions for some reason, but it turned out fab!

2 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
hillbillycitygirl January 08, 2011
Chinese Egg Rolls