Recipe Sifter

X
  • Start Here
    • Course
    • Main Ingredient
    • Cuisine
    • Preparation
    • Occasion
    • Diet
    • Nutrition
1

Select () or exclude () categories to narrow your recipe search.

2

As you select categories, the number of matching recipes will update.

Make some selections to begin narrowing your results.
  • Calories
  • Amount per serving
    1. Total Fat
    2. Saturated Fat
    3. Polyunsat. Fat
    4. Monounsat. Fat
    5. Trans Fat
  • Cholesterol
  • Sodium
  • Potassium
  • Total Carbohydrates
    1. Dietary Fiber
    2. Sugars
  • Protein
  • Vitamin A
  • Vitamin B6
  • Vitamin B12
  • Vitamin C
  • Calcium
  • Iron
  • Vitamin E
  • Magnesium
  • Alcohol
  • Caffeine
  • Find exactly what you're looking for with the web's most powerful recipe filtering tool.

    You are in: Home / Chinese / Chinese Egg Rolls Recipe
    Lost? Site Map

    Chinese Egg Rolls

    Average Rating:

    75 Total Reviews

    Showing 1-20 of 75

    Sort by:

    • on July 27, 2010

      Without a doubt, the best egg rolls I have ever eaten. Used the meatier version, added 2 teaspoons of oyster sauce and a few chopped bean sprouts. These were wonderful. I put them on small baking sheets (covered with parchment paper) a dozen at a time and stuck them in the freezer. When the second baking sheet was full with another dozen, I pulled the first dozen out and put them in a 1 gallon zip-lock freezer bag and stuck them back into the freezer. When I'm ready to cook a few, I put them (still frozen) into hot oil and fry (be careful of the splattering grease...use a lid). They come out perfectly every time. Thank you so much for the only egg roll recipe I will ever use.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on June 19, 2010

      This was the first recipe I tried for my fat-flush diet, since I'm trying to make sure I eat plenty of cabbage. This would be a 5-star rating, except that after I'd rolled the little packages of egg rolls, since it was my first time making them ever, I didn't realize the wrappings would get moist and fall apart, if left for more than a few minutes. I'd had a pile of beautifully wrapped rolls and was devastated when I realized I had to pry apart the soggy mess that developed. It took way too long to work to try to save the mess, but I managed to salvage all of them. So, I would warn any other virgin egg rollers to roll only 2 or 3 'packages', and DON'T put them on top of each other on a plate as you roll them. lol. They were delectable though!! Apart from that mistake I made, since we don't eat pork, I used ground turkey and the whole thing was a rip roaring success in the end. Fought over them with my DH as snacks and appetizers for the next several days. Thanks so much for the recipe!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on May 30, 2010

      these are scrumptious!!! i've made these twice so far. i like to make some for dinner and freeze some for anytime we need egg rolls. the first batch i used pork, and the second batch i used ground beef that i had in the freezer. i actually think we liked the beef ones a tad better! i follow the recipe, but i always omit the sugar and cut back a bit on the soy sauce so the mixture isn't so wet. these are the tastiest egg rolls i've ever made. thanks charmie!!!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on January 19, 2010

      My friend and I made these together and we both loved them. Next time I will mix some bean sprouts with the cabbage and see what happens. A tip: Intead of wasting an egg, I've used cornstarch and water to "glue" the last bit together. Will make these again. They have the right combination of flavors.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on April 21, 2012

      These are excellent egg rolls Charmie! I froze a bunch and had a few. Right now I am trying them baked in the oven. I sprayed them with oil spray on both sides. Hopefully it will work! Thank you for sharing these great tasting little gems. I love the sesame oil in them. Really adds lots of flavor. The only thing I did to deviate from the recipe was use Ponzu sauce instead of soy sauce. It's soy sauce with lime. I love it and it flavored the egg rolls wonderfully. I look forward to having these for snacks when i'm watching tv! Linda

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on March 08, 2012

      Great recipe, well written. I placed mine on a cookie sheet and sprayed with vegetable oil spray and baked theses at 450. They came out crunchy and not greasy and better for you than frying. Thanks for sharing.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on October 10, 2011

      This is the second recipe I used in 2 days for making egg rolls. They both are very good. I ate some and froze the rest.
      I used beef instead of pork and I used about half of the soy sauce, there is no need to use an egg to seal the flab down just use plain water; otherwise I followed the directions. I never made egg rolls before and only ate them about 2-3 times but I really thought these home made ones were delicious. I definitely will make these again.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on August 17, 2011

      I love this recipe. It is so delicious. I don't generally make them into egg rolls. I just eat the filling as is. When I do make them into egg rolls I bake them instead of frying them and they are crispy and delicious that way as well.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on March 31, 2011

      This is the first time I have made egg rolls and this is the last egg roll recipe I will ever need. Oh my gosh, sooooo good!! I used 1/2 pound of shrimp/imitation krab combo and omitted the extra salt, as soy sauce is salty enough for me.
      Thank you Charmie777!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on January 08, 2011

      This recipe is great.
      the only thing I would change is: use low sodium soy sauce.
      otherwise...its perfect!

      ps. I had to swap out the onion for bean sprouts because my hubs is deathly afraid of onions for some reason, but it turned out fab!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on September 03, 2007

      I am a chef and Certified Dietary Manager. I have tried lots of egg roll recipes. My family just loved this one. It was easy and tasted great. The only changes I made was I added Hoisin Sauce instead of the Soy Sauce. I also only used 1/2 lb of meat. Thank You, Chef Wheeler

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on January 29, 2014

      I used the ingredients from this recipe & the technique for recipe #54630 & made without meat since served the egg rolls with Slow Cooked Chicken Chow Mein (see my review for that). These turned out beautiful. I used low sodium soy sauce (not even the entire amount) & they were a bit salty. I would attribute that to my not including the meat, so if you do that too, eliminate the salt. Thanks for sharing, we'll be making these again soon!

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on September 24, 2012

      AMAZING!!! My daughters are Chinese food fanatics and absolutely loved these!. Only change was to leave out the ginger 'cause I don't like it! I can't get ground pork at my store in bulk, so I just bought a small package of pork "stew" meat, flash froze it for about 15 minutes and then popped it into the food processor. Served for dinner with white rice and a cucumber/tomato salad. Will be making again and again. Thanks Charmie!!!!

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on October 31, 2014

      I made these last night, I haven't tried them yet, but I laid them all out on a baking tray and froze them as one of the reviewers suggested. However, all my wrappers cracked :( I also noticed in the recipe that the teaspoon of water listed in the ingredients does not have an instruction.... Did I miss a critical step? thanks and can't wait to try them!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on September 20, 2014

      We loved these egg rolls! I had cabbage and carrots so made my own vegetable mix but otherwise made as directed. This is a keeper!<br/>Made for Culinary Quest 2014

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on September 03, 2014

      Easy to make and delicious! My favorite eggroll is the pork eggroll, and we all loved this! Made for Culinary Quest Summer 2014. Thanks for sharing!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on June 18, 2014

      I'd been really craving REAL CHINESE EGG ROLLS (not the stuff we get out here in San Diego...they are phillipino and have an entirely different taste to them). This recipe KNOCKED IT OUT OF THE BALLPARK. Was easy, clear directions and tasted WONDERFUL. Even my daughter, who eats NOTHING but totally healthy food, was woofing them down. Served them with duck sauce and hot mustard and there wasn't ONE leftover. <br/><br/>Thank you HUGE for posting this recipe. VERY tasty and will be making them over and over again.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on June 03, 2014

      These were great! I doubled the all seasonings and I will do even more seasonings next time. I added a lb of ground pork and guessed at the cabbage--also added fresh mushrooms and that could be why I felt the need to add more seasonings. I had filling leftover also. The best homemade eggroll recipe I have ever made. It is a keeper!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on January 13, 2014

      Amazing Eggrolls. I used double the amount and froze what I didn't bake right away.<br/><br/>For low-fat lovers, roast the meat on a baking sheet and drain it, then add it to the vegetables. Wrap your eggrolls and throw em' in 180C for 15-20 minutes in a toaster oven or 180C on turbo for 15 minutes in a large oven for a crispy texture and low fat.<br/><br/>I brushed the leftover eggs on the top of the eggrolls and added some sesame seeds. The oily seeds kept it from being too dry and added that nice taste you get from sesame buns.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on December 26, 2013

      Excellent egg roll recipe. I had some leftover pork roast so I used that instead of raw pork. I also added some pre-soaked sliced tree ear mushrooms and used less soy sauce so the mixture would not be too moist. Other than that I didn't change a thing. Froze the uncooked filled rolls on cookie sheets lined with parchment paper. They were delicious - so much better than those commercially made rolls you get at a chinese restaurant.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    « Previous 1 2 3 4

    Advertisement

    Nutritional Facts for Chinese Egg Rolls

    Serving Size: 1 (822 g)

    Servings Per Recipe: 1

    Amount Per Serving
    % Daily Value
    Calories 159.7
     
    Calories from Fat 47
    29%
    Total Fat 5.2 g
    8%
    Saturated Fat 1.7 g
    8%
    Cholesterol 32.0 mg
    10%
    Sodium 729.4 mg
    30%
    Total Carbohydrate 19.8 g
    6%
    Dietary Fiber 0.7 g
    3%
    Sugars 0.5 g
    2%
    Protein 7.6 g
    15%

    The following items or measurements are not included:

    cabbage and carrot coleslaw mix

    Advertisement


    Over 475,000 Recipes

    Food.com Network of Sites