Recipe Sifter

X
  • Start Here
    • Course
    • Main Ingredient
    • Cuisine
    • Preparation
    • Occasion
    • Diet
    • Nutrition
1

Select () or exclude () categories to narrow your recipe search.

2

As you select categories, the number of matching recipes will update.

Make some selections to begin narrowing your results.
  • Calories
  • Amount per serving
    1. Total Fat
    2. Saturated Fat
    3. Polyunsat. Fat
    4. Monounsat. Fat
    5. Trans Fat
  • Cholesterol
  • Sodium
  • Potassium
  • Total Carbohydrates
    1. Dietary Fiber
    2. Sugars
  • Protein
  • Vitamin A
  • Vitamin B6
  • Vitamin B12
  • Vitamin C
  • Calcium
  • Iron
  • Vitamin E
  • Magnesium
  • Alcohol
  • Caffeine
  • Find exactly what you're looking for with the web's most powerful recipe filtering tool.

    You are in: Home / Chinese / Chinese Cabbage Salad / Coleslaw Recipe
    Lost? Site Map

    Chinese Cabbage Salad / Coleslaw

    Average Rating:

    16 Total Reviews

    Showing 1-16 of 16

    Sort by:

    • on May 25, 2009

      YUMMY! I loved it. I'm not a big fan of raw pepper so i left that out. I also added more sunflower and sesame seeds. I kept the oil to 1/2 cup and added about double the sesame oil. Also used low sodium soy sauce and left out the salt and pepper. I would also recommend sauteing the ramen noodles first until they are slightly golden, then adding in the nuts and seeds. Also if taking to a party - I'd keep the crunchy stuff out until ready to eat as they soak up the dressing and loose their crunch. I plan to keep this on hand - in 3 separate parts - for summer dinners when I need a salad.

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on August 02, 2008

      I enjoy Chinese Slaw anyway, but was really pleased with this one. I loved the additional veggies & especially the nuts. The salad was pleasing visually & the crunch fantastic. I did make a few minor changes trying to reduce fat & following the other reviewers advice. I eliminated the browning in butter step & the butter. I also cut the oil in half. I found it more than enough to coat everything. I will be making this again. Thanks Rita!

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on February 28, 2003

      Crunchy, tasty salad. This recipe has floated around for a while, but I love the addition of the nuts and seeds in this variation. I added some minced cilantro to the mix, and I cut down on the oil, using only 1/2 cup and it was more than enough. I'll cut down even more when I make it again...and I certainly will!

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on February 27, 2012

      I leave out the oil/butter.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on May 31, 2010

      This was a very nice salad, I have never had a salad made quite like this before, but I will be having it again so so different for us, but we really likes it. I knew I would, but DH is a fuss pot and I really didn't think he would eat it, but I was amazed he loved it. Very very crunchy. I served it with Grilled Thai Beef Skewers#301990 and they worked very well together thank you so much for posting. Made for ZWT#6 2010

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on May 30, 2010

      This is a fantastic change from the other Chinese coleslaws I have had. We loved the addition of extra veggies and the mix of nuts. Thanks for the great recipe!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on May 24, 2010

      This is delicious! I didn't throw the crunchy parts in until the very last minute, and I'm so glad I waited...this is sooo delicious! Loved this salad....thanks for sharing!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on February 25, 2010

      I made this as part of an Asian meal for company, and it was the best dish of all. I made it without the ramen noodles or almonds (allergies) but added cashews. Everyone loved it and the 4 of us ate the "serves 10-12" amount.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on May 10, 2009

      Very refreshing and simple salad. I decreased the amount of oil used to 1/4 C of olive oil and 1 TB sesame oil (I think next time I will increase amount of sesame oil), and used apple cider vinegar instead of rice wine vinegar. I also skipped the browning step, as I wanted to save some calories and fat. I think next time I will add some grilled chicken to turn this into a main meal. Thanks for sharing!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on August 04, 2008

      I love Chinese coleslaw, and really enjoyed the red pepper in this. I made it for a potluck, and knew some were allergic to soy and dairy, so used corn oil to crisp up the noddles, nuts, etc. and left out the soy sauce. Thanks Rita! I got asked for the recipe!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on June 29, 2008

      This worked really well for us. I had altered much of the recipe, but I used the base dressing for us. Because of allergies, we can't make most cabbage salads using the ramen seasoning mix. I'm really glad to have found this recipe. I skipped browning the items in butter (DS allergic). I also didn't boil the mix, just tossed it in the micro for 30 seconds to dissolve the sugar. We can't have almonds (DS is ANA to nuts) so we upped the sunflower seeds. I didn't have any green onions, so I used onion chives out of my garden. I also added 1 whole cucumber because my family loves them. After all these tweaks, it still worked good for us. Thanks for sharing the recipe!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on June 11, 2008

      Very good!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on May 07, 2007

      Nice salad and lots of it. A little bland for me. Next time I will use Napa cabbage, more ginger, more sesame seeds. Perhaps a dash of hot sauce. Definitely needs salt and pepper. I will tweak and report on results.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on May 06, 2007

      This is outstanding - I make this regularly and always get comments on it! If making for a dinner party I often make the sauce and noodle/nut/seed mixture a day or so beforehand and just store in airtight containers til needed. Thanks for a great recipe!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on June 29, 2006

      This was really good, and even better the next day. I increased the amount of "dressing" and cooked the noodles. Everyone loved it. Thanks for posting.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on June 29, 2004

      Only problem I had was we didn\'t make enough for our party. It was gone fast. There was a little too much liquid though, so agree with first reviewer to cut down on oil.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    « Previous 1 Next »

    Advertisement

    Nutritional Facts for Chinese Cabbage Salad / Coleslaw

    Serving Size: 1 (143 g)

    Servings Per Recipe: 10

    Amount Per Serving
    % Daily Value
    Calories 347.8
     
    Calories from Fat 215
    62%
    Total Fat 23.9 g
    36%
    Saturated Fat 6.1 g
    30%
    Cholesterol 12.2 mg
    4%
    Sodium 509.8 mg
    21%
    Total Carbohydrate 30.4 g
    10%
    Dietary Fiber 4.5 g
    18%
    Sugars 14.5 g
    58%
    Protein 5.7 g
    11%

    The following items or measurements are not included:

    rice wine vinegar

    Advertisement


    Over 475,000 Recipes

    Food.com Network of Sites