Recipe Sifter

X
  • Start Here
    • Course
    • Main Ingredient
    • Cuisine
    • Preparation
    • Occasion
    • Diet
    • Nutrition
1

Select () or exclude () categories to narrow your recipe search.

2

As you select categories, the number of matching recipes will update.

Make some selections to begin narrowing your results.
  • Calories
  • Amount per serving
    1. Total Fat
    2. Saturated Fat
    3. Polyunsat. Fat
    4. Monounsat. Fat
    5. Trans Fat
  • Cholesterol
  • Sodium
  • Potassium
  • Total Carbohydrates
    1. Dietary Fiber
    2. Sugars
  • Protein
  • Vitamin A
  • Vitamin B6
  • Vitamin B12
  • Vitamin C
  • Calcium
  • Iron
  • Vitamin E
  • Magnesium
  • Alcohol
  • Caffeine
  • Find exactly what you're looking for with the web's most powerful recipe filtering tool.

    You are in: Home / Chinese / Chinese Beef With Broccoli Recipe
    Lost? Site Map

    Chinese Beef With Broccoli

    Average Rating:

    32 Total Reviews

    Showing 1-20 of 32

    Sort by:

    • on August 09, 2012

      Made half a recipe for the two of us and it was very good. Used fresh broccoli from the garden.

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on March 03, 2011

      For poster: 'barrdbarrbarr', who asked why the recipe calls for baking soda. Baking soda is an alkaline salt, that will balance out an acidic ingredient.

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on September 25, 2010

      We liked this dish. I made it to go along with some fried rice and wonton soup. Thank you for sharing.

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on January 26, 2010

      We really liked this dish. Super simple, few ingredients and even a novice cook can turn out a great dish. I did add a bit of baby bok choy and some thinly sliced carrots to the recipe though I doubt it made a major difference to taste. I hate even slightly overcooked brocolli, and with this recipe, the brocolli was cooked perfectly...a bit of crunch without releasing the sulfurous taste I dislike. THANKS!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on January 07, 2010

      I have had better...disappointed...would not use this in my catering.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on November 29, 2009

      Very tasty and very much like a Chinese restaurant dish! Like Lavender Lynn, I added the green onions later in the cooking process. I will defintely make again! Just curious: what purpose does the pinch of baking soda serve?

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on May 18, 2009

      Oh my! I'm expecting my second child and have been craving this dish, but the wallet has to be tightened. So i thought i would try this recipe. It hit the spot! and i am very very very picky when it comes to Chinese food (i only order from one place). I did double the sauce, and added carrots and mushrooms. Oh yeah and i used chicken instead. I might try 1/2 a tea spoon less of oyster sauce. but i did go heavy on it the first time. And i added sesame oil to my cooking oil, just a little bit. Yummy thank you so much! my husband thinks its better than the restaurants :)

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on February 13, 2009

      A good recipe that we very much enjoyed, it was easily prepared and very satisfying. My only reservation was that it was a little salty for us, so probably, like other reviewers, I would hold back on the oyster sauce next time. I subbed chicken for the beef, as we don't eat red meat. I served it over rice, and we had no leftovers, good recipe! :) Made for Aussie/NZ swap # 25, February 2009

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on January 05, 2009

      This was a good recipe and the meat was very tender. I too could taste the oyster sauce pretty strongly especially on a few pieces of meat I ate. I think next time I will do slightly less of the oyster sauce and will mix it in the soy sauce. I used Sake we had left over for the rice wine...I think they are somewhat the same. Will maybe try it with just some white wine next time. It is a good recipe and will make it again.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on November 11, 2008

      Very good, solid recipe for chinese beef with broccoli. The steak was nice and tender, due to slicing thin & pounding. Nice technique. I served over rice. The only thing I would do differently is to use half the amount of oyster sauce. I could taste too much of that ingredient. Thanks for a great, authentic recipe!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on November 08, 2008

      We got home after dark, hungry and tired... I already had this marinating in the fridge all day so this was mega quick to sling together. The taste was great ! I used an organic piece of beef that I cut into mega fine slivers with my ceramic knife, marinated all day and after a short stint in the pan it melted like butter in our mouths. DH was impressed and we both would have had seconds if there had been more. please see my Rating system: 5 excellent stars for a wonderful recipe that I will be delighting in making really often .. and best of all? No MSG! with just a little forward planning and prep this is a fast weeknight dinner that beats the take-away joint hands down. Thanks!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on October 09, 2008

      Fast and easy. Made as listed and will certainly be making again. A keeper for us :)

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on September 08, 2008

      This was a great attempt at trying to replicate my favorite takeout! While I think I would prefer a slightly less sweet option than rice wine on my next attempt (like some of the other reviewers) my husband and I were quite pleased with the result. We left out the oyster sauce as I couldn't justify buying an ingredient that I would rarely use, but since so many people insist that it's the best part of this recipe, I'm going to have to rethink that and try again! Thanks so much for the wonderful recipe.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on September 05, 2008

      5 Stars, a mild, but tasty dish, great for kids and expected to be GERD-free by DH. This went together very quickly after establishing relationship with butcher who sliced beef sirloin tip thin for me; as "the slowest chopper in the Western Hemisphere", I normally do not make Chinese food, and it took me 30 minutes to prepare the broccoli in small florets. I think I may use frozen baby broccoli florets next time. I used sake, which is rice wine, isn't it? It did not taste too sweet to us. DH and I think the oyster sauce makes the dish. I used lower sodium Kikkoman soy sauce, and will try Soy Sauce Substitute With Very Low Sodium #295264 next time to see if that works well in this for a lower sodium version. I normally do not order this dish, as I am suspicious of the meat quality, so I cannot compare to restaurant versions. Personally, I would like some zip from some red pepper flakes or spicy oil, but that may no longer qualify as traditional beef with broccoli. DH said to leave it alone, it tasted great the way it was, and we should add this to our rotation. Round steak would have been too tough, and ribeye too fatty, so we were very pleased with the results using sirloin tips. Made for Please Review My Recipe.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on August 30, 2008

      It is tasty indeed. I didn't much care for the sweetness that the rice wine adds so probably will use dry sherry, or just broth, the next time I make this. But it is quick and easy. Thanks for sharing it.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on August 25, 2008

      Nice recipe, thank you! I used a flank steak that was tenderized by the butcher (so it cuts like butter) and added mushrooms and water chestnuts. Next time I will use more broccoli, more onion, less meat and less soy sauce. Sauce was yummy and we served this over brown rice. Made for MAKE MY RECIPE tag.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on August 05, 2008

      This is delicious! So fast and easy. I didn't have oyster sauce so I just used water. I used La Choy soy sauce also. I hate going for chinese take out because there are so many things that are good. Now I can leave beef with broccoli off the deciding list because I can make it at home! :)

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on July 29, 2008

      This is a very good beef and broccoli recipe. I followed the ingredients per recipe. The only change I would make is to add the green onions at the last minute so they are just fresh looking. Made for PRMR 2008.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on July 16, 2008

      Wow! This was fabulous! I had to make a few modifications (no rice wine or oyster sauce) and I used TeresaS' idea and made it with Ginger Noodles - just outstanding! Two of my kids ate two servings and my youngest - the most picky - ate everything on his plate! This is definitely a keeper!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on June 09, 2008

      With recipes like this one - who needs to go out. This is better then any I have ever had at a restaurant - and I have had some good ones! Followed instructions with great results. Thank you and thank your mom for sharing a great tasting stir fry recipe - one that was enjoyed and will be made again - and again.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    « Previous 1 2

    Advertisement

    Nutritional Facts for Chinese Beef With Broccoli

    Serving Size: 1 (234 g)

    Servings Per Recipe: 4

    Amount Per Serving
    % Daily Value
    Calories 150.3
     
    Calories from Fat 36
    24%
    Total Fat 4.0 g
    6%
    Saturated Fat 0.5 g
    2%
    Cholesterol 0.0 mg
    0%
    Sodium 1528.9 mg
    63%
    Total Carbohydrate 20.9 g
    6%
    Dietary Fiber 4.3 g
    17%
    Sugars 6.2 g
    24%
    Protein 6.6 g
    13%

    The following items or measurements are not included:

    beef sirloin tip

    Advertisement


    Food.com Network of Sites

    • Mexican Recipes
    • Chinese Recipes
    • Australian Recipes
    • Breakfast Recipes
    • Greek Recipes
    • Restaurant Recipes
    • Italian Recipes
    • Christmas Recipes
    • Thanksgiving Recipes
    • Southern Recipes
    • Dessert Recipes
    • Deep Fried Recipes
    • Thai Recipes
    • Low Cholesterol Recipes
    • Indian Recipes
    • Healthy Recipes
    • Meatloaf Recipes