18 Reviews

  • Most Helpful
  • Newest
  • Highest Rating

This was awesome, but I did deviate slightly. I marinated/cooked the pork as described, but then sliced it thinly and put it to one side. Then I sauteed some red pepper, garlic and those little baby yellow corncobs that you get in Chinese food sometimes, and then - once they were cooked/warmed through - I added the pork and the garlic sauce and then stirred to combine. Didn't use any noodles . . just served the saucy pork/pepper/corncob combo with some steamed rice. Really, REALLY good!

2 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Michaelk69 September 24, 2010

Toned down the Asian Chili a bit for the family (I love HOT foods) and was a big crowd pleaser without a major investment in my home time. I put it on a bed of vermachelli rice noodles which drank in the garlic sauce. Good meal for working families.

2 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Marc Reyer Grant January 29, 2004

Cheated because I was short on time. Used bottled Shanghi barbeque sauce and then made the garlic sauce. The garlic sauce was awesome. I used it on my stir fry veggies and it was really great. Thanks!

1 person found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
punkarooni May 18, 2010

Wow is all I can say. This pork blew my mind! I doubled the recipe and cooked it for 20 minutes longer than suggested, and it turned out perfect. I loved how the sauce became sticky as it cooked. It was very good with sesame noodles the first time around, and just as good in spring rolls the next day. Thank you for posting!

1 person found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
MizEmerilLagasse March 26, 2010

I marinated the pork for 2 days in the frig. This was a very flavorfull meat. The hoisin's sweetness, paired with the tart garlic sauce was a treat to the taste buds. We loved it !!!

1 person found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Imagenie September 09, 2009

Was more impressed w/ the bbq sauce then the garlic sauce, but still delicious!!! Served over carrot rice.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
amy.rua April 26, 2010

Got this recipe a long time ago from East Meets West. Quite good. I add a little sriracha to the mix that gets poured onto the pork. No more than a 1/4 of a teaspoon, sriracha can overwhelm other flavors very easily. I also put a little bowl of sriracha for dipping the pork into at the table. I prefer to use sesame oil and chili flakes if I don't have any chili oil, but I don't care of Tabasco so that's more a personal preference.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Bloodwyn December 03, 2009

I marinated the pork overnight yet I thought there was still something missing from the final product. I don't quite know what the problem was but I was a little disappointed. The pork did stay very moist though, which was nice!

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
HoserLauren June 27, 2009

This was very tasty! I marinated it for several hours and served it with white rice and broccoli. The side sauce was a good accompanyment but not necessary as the pork was just so moist and yummy either way. Thanks for a yummy meal!

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Lindrebellava June 03, 2009

Loved this! DD marinated this most of the day (she doubled the marinade). Sauce was fabulous! We added a large cubed onion to the pot. As we were eating, we both said this would be delicious with chicken, as well. Thanks, this will be a repeat!

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
kstrating February 03, 2009
Chinese BBQ Pork with Garlic Sauce