12 Reviews

The only change I made was to grate my ginger and chilli and then just mix the marinade/sauce in a jug and pour over trhe wings in the baking tray (lined and would adivise doing so) and made as per recipe and the result was moist wings that melted in the mouth. The only suggestion I would offer is that I cooked the wings the meatiest side up (I had removed the wing tips for stock) and I would cook them the initially the other way for the first 15 minutes (I did them 200C fan forced oven) and then flip to have the fleshy/meat side up and cook at 165C fan forced for the last 20 minutes. Though my photo looks like they are burnt they are declicatbly delicious and moist and only over the above suggestion to maybe get better colour coverage in the cooking. Thank you mersaydees, made for Please Review My Recipe.

1 person found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
I'mPat February 06, 2012

I used pork spare ribs instead of the chicken and it was excellent. The combination of spices makes this a finger lickin good receipe.
Highly recommend for those who like compliments!

1 person found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
rozillop July 28, 2010

These were great! Perfect amount of spice for us! I made more than I needed and have just had them cold today for my lunch - excellent recipe I shall be making again and again for BBQs and picnic! Made for ZWT6 Ya Ya Cookerhood.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
English_Rose May 31, 2010

This was wonderful!!!! I made it with chicken legs as I could not get wings, I will make it with wings next time. I also added a tablespoon to the sauce from the pan when the chicken was cooked and served it on the side as a dipping sauce. I love how easy this was with such a wonderful flavour. A big 5 stars from all of us. Thanks for sharing mersaydees.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
The Flying Chef August 24, 2008

Yum! I'm a big fan of hoisin sauce so I had to try this recipe. I marinated the wings overnight and cooked them in a 180oC heat oven for about 30 minutes. They were perfect. Thank you mersaydees

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Chef floWer June 23, 2008

These wings were really good served with fried rice. I also had to sub garlic chili paste for the chili bean paste. I loved the flavor of the barbecue sauce and can't wait to try it on other meats. Thanks for sharing the recipe!

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Dreamgoddess April 07, 2008

Very easy and tastes great. I used this on some pork chops and I baked them at 375 for 45 minutes basting every 20 minutes. Delish

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
YungB March 15, 2008

These were so yummy! I couldn't find the chili bean paste so I subbed garlic chili paste, which came out so well I can't imagine the other would be better, LOL. Sweet, tangy, with a touch of spice. Awesome!!

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Kim127 February 19, 2008

Loved these wings! I used chili garlic sauce in place of the bean paste, but other than that followed the recipe exactly. I halved the recipe and it made 7 lg. wings. The cooking time worked fine even on the lg. wings, and I was worried that they may need additional time in the oven, but they didn't. I will definately be making these again! Made for Chinese/Vietnamese New Year Tag Game. Linda

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Linda's Busy Kitchen February 15, 2008
Chinese Barbecued Chicken Wings