Recipe Sifter

X
  • Start Here
    • Course
    • Main Ingredient
    • Cuisine
    • Preparation
    • Occasion
    • Diet
    • Nutrition
1

Select () or exclude () categories to narrow your recipe search.

2

As you select categories, the number of matching recipes will update.

Make some selections to begin narrowing your results.
  • Calories
  • Amount per serving
    1. Total Fat
    2. Saturated Fat
    3. Polyunsat. Fat
    4. Monounsat. Fat
    5. Trans Fat
  • Cholesterol
  • Sodium
  • Potassium
  • Total Carbohydrates
    1. Dietary Fiber
    2. Sugars
  • Protein
  • Vitamin A
  • Vitamin B6
  • Vitamin B12
  • Vitamin C
  • Calcium
  • Iron
  • Vitamin E
  • Magnesium
  • Alcohol
  • Caffeine
  • Find exactly what you're looking for with the web's most powerful recipe filtering tool.

    You are in: Home / Chinese / Chicken With Cashews Recipe
    Lost? Site Map

    Chicken With Cashews

    Average Rating:

    15 Total Reviews

    Showing 1-15 of 15

    Sort by:

    • on March 26, 2011

      Super tasty and quick! The cornflour in the marindade helps the flavour really stick and also locks in the moistness. Only changes I made to suit what I had on hand was to use baby corn instead of bamboo shoots and a variety of different colours of capsicum. As suggested in the intro I warmed the cashews by putting them in with the vegies at the end, they soaked up a great flavour from the hoisin etc so it's a really worthwhile step.

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on December 27, 2009

      Wonderful. I made this as part of a big Chinese Shabbat meal this past Friday. I used turkey cutlets rather than chicken and used 6 of them, and adjusted everything else as needed. I added a diced onion and bok choy with the bell pepper and bamboo shoots. This was so easy to make I'll be adding it to my rotation. Everyone loved this. Thanks for posting. I'll make this again.

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on December 22, 2008

      Almost 50 years ago my mother took a cooking class while my father was stationed in Okinowa. She still has the cards from the class, and this recipe is almost identical, hers does call for an onion. She still makes the recipes from that class and it is always a treat. This is my hands down favorite.

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on December 21, 2008

      I doubled the recipe so we'd have some for another meal (even though it ended up being munched to the very end!) ~ & THIS CHICKEN IS OUTSTANDING! Added the nuts during the last couple of minutes of cooking & served it all over a combo of brown rice & peas! This is a definite keeper! Many thanks! [Tagged, made & reviewed as a PRESSIE in the Aus/NZ 12 Days of Christmas Recipe Swap]

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on December 09, 2008

      Made for awesome chicken. We love chicken - add those lovely ingredients and it's a winner at our house! Made as posted - didn't have bamboo shoots; found the suggested bean sprouts worked really well as did using chicken stock. Have to make this for my family - only change needed next time around .. is to double the recipe! Thank you for a recipe that made for a great evening meal.

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on December 01, 2008

      *Reviewed for Australian NZ Forum Recipe Swap Dec 08* Wonderful! All of my family thoroughly enjoyed this chicken dinner. It was so quick to put together and even quicker to cook. It's a unanimous 5 stars from my family. Photo also to be posted. I used 3 large chicken breasts and added in extra sauce and marinade ingredients. I used a gluten-free soy and Hoisin sauce (Australian Chang's brand) to make our meal gluten-free. Thanks Chef floWer for another great recipe :)

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on November 05, 2008

      Wow! This was so easy and so good. I toasted the cashews in the oil for about 2 minutes (as one reviewer suggested), and that really sparked 'em up! Didn't have bamboo shoots or bean sprouts, I used water chestnuts instead. Yummy! I doubled the entire recipe, and we had a very hearty meal with plenty left for lunch tomorrow, too. Definitely a KEEPER, floWer! ....---.... UPDATE 11-5-08: Made this again, and enjoyed it every bit as much as the first time!

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on June 05, 2008

      Oh wow, this was really good. I added some green beans to this because I love them. This was really quick and easy and, most of all, delicious! Made for Zaar World Tour 4 for the Tastebud Tickling Travellers.

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on May 21, 2008

      Wonderful recipe, I used some extra and diffferent vegetables but everything else was as per recipe. I think (because of the extra vegetables) I got 3 good sized serves. I heated the cashews in the microwave before adding (at the end) and they were heated through just nicely. This recipe was very quick and easy and the taste was wonderful. Another quick and easy recipe to add to the collection. Thanks Chef floWer.

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on February 08, 2008

      OH, OH, OH, wonderful Cashew Chicken!!! Wish my photo had turned out well. Booo! Surely enjoyed this dish for Chinese New Year 08. Thanks, CfloWer!

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on October 28, 2007

      Very nice, indeed. I added some fresh, skinny green beans to this as well. Like most chinese-style food, this came together very quickly (especially as there's very little prep), and was very tasty. Perfect amount in what was a multi-course, chinese dinner at my home.

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on October 26, 2007

      Absolutely gorgeous! I loved it and it was so easy to make! I use the marinade all the time for my chicken stir frys. Defintely a favorite!

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on May 09, 2007

      Great recipe. I love being able to easily adjust this to use more veggies. I added mushrooms, a tin of chinese baby corn, red capsicum, zucchini and tripled the sauce to accommodate the extra veggies. Served over rice, my three year old gobbled this up. Thanks Chef floWer for a great recipe that took no time to throw together after a busy day.

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on April 22, 2007

      5 stars! I also couldn't find bamboo shoots and the bag of mixed peppers that DH bought only yesterday had green ones that he hadn't noticed were mouldy so I was restricted to the good ones, namely red and yellow. The yield is small, it was two decent servings for a main meal for two people (mind you we didn't bother adding rice) and I slowly sauted my cashews for about 10 minutes in 1 T olive oil, until they were devinely toasted. I added some during the last minutes of cooking and sprinkled the rest on top. Like you I found the peanut oil to be a lot so used homemade chicken stock also in the interests of cutting down fat. I added some zucchini and it was wonderfully tasty. Please see my rating system: 5 wonderful stars for an easy to throw together meal that tastes excellent. Thanks!!!

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on December 11, 2013

      this basic recipe using the homemade version of Hoison sauce was a HIT!!! I had every ingredient except hoison sauce and I looked up a version of it (and definitely basterdized it) I used double the amount of soy and added extra of the seasoning to the hoison and extra water. my family loved it! we had NO extras! my husband is not a fan of cashew chicken and he raved about this recipe with my tweeks.. We are having it again tonight.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    « Previous 1 Next »

    Advertisement

    Nutritional Facts for Chicken With Cashews

    Serving Size: 1 (306 g)

    Servings Per Recipe: 2

    Amount Per Serving
    % Daily Value
    Calories 580.6
     
    Calories from Fat 360
    62%
    Total Fat 40.0 g
    61%
    Saturated Fat 7.9 g
    39%
    Cholesterol 93.2 mg
    31%
    Sodium 1468.1 mg
    61%
    Total Carbohydrate 19.7 g
    6%
    Dietary Fiber 2.5 g
    10%
    Sugars 7.5 g
    30%
    Protein 36.5 g
    73%

    Advertisement


    Over 475,000 Recipes

    Food.com Network of Sites