Recipe Sifter

X
  • Start Here
    • Course
    • Main Ingredient
    • Cuisine
    • Preparation
    • Occasion
    • Diet
    • Nutrition
1

Select () or exclude () categories to narrow your recipe search.

2

As you select categories, the number of matching recipes will update.

Make some selections to begin narrowing your results.
  • Calories
  • Amount per serving
    1. Total Fat
    2. Saturated Fat
    3. Polyunsat. Fat
    4. Monounsat. Fat
    5. Trans Fat
  • Cholesterol
  • Sodium
  • Potassium
  • Total Carbohydrates
    1. Dietary Fiber
    2. Sugars
  • Protein
  • Vitamin A
  • Vitamin B6
  • Vitamin B12
  • Vitamin C
  • Calcium
  • Iron
  • Vitamin E
  • Magnesium
  • Alcohol
  • Caffeine
  • Find exactly what you're looking for with the web's most powerful recipe filtering tool.

    You are in: Home / Chinese / Chicken Chow Mein Recipe
    Lost? Site Map

    Chicken Chow Mein

    Average Rating:

    18 Total Reviews

    Showing 1-18 of 18

    Sort by:

    • on September 16, 2003

      My husband and I were having a bet to see who could make the best meal using the least amount of money and I won using this recipe. I chose this recipe because I had almost all the ingredients already in the house. And it came out awesome. My husband especially said it tasted so fresh. I omitted the ham and added chopped onion when cooking the chicken.We both loved it a lot and will be making it again!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on December 07, 2005

      This was delicious. We live a long distance from any good Chinese places. One night my husband was craving Chicken Chow Mein and so I logged on here, found this recipe, made it, and it was perfect. I added 1/2 c. of carrots and celery for more crunch. We didn't have rice vinegar so I used our garlic flavored red wine vinegar. We didn't have the sesame oil or the oyster sauce, either, and it still had a delicious taste. Since we didn't have the oyster sauce I made a sauce of 1 c. water, 2 tsp. chicken bouillon, and 3 tsp. cornstarch. I mixed this in hoping to give it some more flavor since we were missing the Chinese seasonings. Also, we left out the ham because we prefer chicken. We will definitely make this a lot! And it is very quick!!!

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on September 22, 2003

      How did I miss this recipe before? I was looking for a good chinese recipe to go with the egg roll I had made and froze the week before. Another zaar bud hooked me up with this one. This is very quick to prepare although I did not add the ham and did add some diced carrots and celery. The flavors were excellent. Definitely as good if not better than many chinese restaurant dishes. Thanks Leeann. I will be making this dish often.

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on September 11, 2003

      Truely one of THE BEST recipes I have tried on zaar. And that I don't say often. I made this to go along with my first attempt at homeade eggrolls....we sit down to dinner and BF says, "this is one of the best meals you've ever made". I followed your recipe to the letter EXCEPT...I had no ham, so I didn't add it, and I also added a TBSP of chopped cilantro w/the green onion, at the very end. I want to say it tasted authentic, but it tasted so fresh...even better than authentic. I sound so syrupy here....but this is really a great recipe! A keeper at our house, for sure!

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on August 31, 2003

      This is dish is authentic tasting and the flavor is SOOOO VERY GOOD!!!! It was my first attempt at making chow mein and it turned out better than the local restaurant's. I added broccoli and omitted ham (because I didn't have any). I will make this dish again. Thanks leeannr for the awesome recipe!

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on March 10, 2011

      It was good..I would definitely make it again. I also added diced potatoes and some broccoli...would definitely had them again. Tasted just like Lo Mein from from a Chinese Fast Food

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on November 06, 2009

      This was a GREAT base to work with to get that restaurant flavour! I didn't use ham or green onions but used cabbage, white onions, mushrooms, bean sprouts and celery. The sesame oil and oyster sauce was exactly what I was looking for in authenticity taste. Thank you so much!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on July 02, 2008

      This wasn't terrible, but it sure wasn't what I was looking for. To me it tasted like dressed up Top Ramen. I didn't add the ham or snow peas, but I know that didn't make much of a difference in my opinion. It did cook up quick though - but pretty disappointing compared to restaurant chow mein.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on December 26, 2006

      It wasn't bad, but it wasn't what I was looking for in American restaurant style chow mein. They are usually a light color with a light enhancing flavor, but not overpowering. The oyster sauce gave it a very different flavor. The vegetables were secondary to the sauce. It was a dark sauce, the oyster taste was there which I really didn't care for.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on July 28, 2006

      Fantastic recipe. I made a huge batch of chow mein. I added more veggies (bamboo shoots, water chestnuts, celery, mushrooms, ginger and hot sauce). The biggest change I made to this recipe was stir frying the noodles separately from the chicken. I did this to avoid the "sticky" noodles one reviewer mentioned. I added the noodles to the chicken and veggies later on. It worked perfectly.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on January 09, 2006

      Tasty! I omitted the ham and replaced it with 1 can of oriental vegetables. Just before serving, I sprinkled crunchy chow mein noodles on the top. It's a keeper! Thanks!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on December 29, 2005

      My family loved this recipe!! We like our chow mein with more vegetables, so I added sliced carrots and celery, bean sprouts & bamboo shoots. The rest of the recipe was made as written. We thought this recipe had a very authentic Chinese restaurant taste. I will be making this again and again. Thank you for posting this wonderful recipe!!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on June 15, 2005

      SUPER yummy!! BUT, I too, did not add the ham. It was enjoyed by 2 adults, 2 preteens, one toddler and a 1 yr old. Oh - I also added about a cup of mixed frozen veggies. Next time I'll cut the oil a bit as it was just a bit too oily for my taste. Otherwise - YUM!!!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on October 16, 2004

      Nice - great flavour. I made a couple of changes (as I tend to due based on what is in the fridge). I added red onion and cooked it with the chicken. I didn't have any snow peas (however would add them is I had them) and added mushrooms & red peppers. Oh, and I didn't add the ham - don't think I would as it was good without it. - lovenest -

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on July 12, 2004

      AWESOME. I did without the ham though and replaced half the noodles with beansprouts. Everyone loved it.Thanks

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on February 10, 2004

      This rocked!!!! Great flavor and soo quick and easy to prep. I did leave out the ham as I had none. This is a keeper! thanks for posting!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on October 06, 2003

      We all really liked the flavor of the dish but didn't care for the texture of the noodles. They were fresh Asian noodles like mentioned in the recipe but maybe they weren't that great of noodles or I possibly overcooked them. High rating for the flavor but the noodles made the dish seem gooey. I might have to try again with some different noodles and maybe I will have better luck.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on September 27, 2003

      WOW! Very good, restaurant quality, IMO. I added extra garlic, mushrooms, zuchini and bean sprouts. I also put a tablespoon of hot garlic, chili stuff at the end for heat, can't ever remember the stuff, sambel oleek or something like that. ANYWAY, great dish. We all loved it. You are right it is all in the prep, comes together quickly and is very good. I too left out the ham.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    « Previous 1 Next »

    Advertisement

    Nutritional Facts for Chicken Chow Mein

    Serving Size: 1 (225 g)

    Servings Per Recipe: 3

    Amount Per Serving
    % Daily Value
    Calories 987.4
     
    Calories from Fat 590
    59%
    Total Fat 65.6 g
    100%
    Saturated Fat 10.5 g
    52%
    Cholesterol 58.2 mg
    19%
    Sodium 2088.6 mg
    87%
    Total Carbohydrate 70.8 g
    23%
    Dietary Fiber 5.6 g
    22%
    Sugars 1.8 g
    7%
    Protein 32.5 g
    65%

    Advertisement


    Over 475,000 Recipes

    Food.com Network of Sites