Recipe Sifter

X
  • Start Here
    • Course
    • Main Ingredient
    • Cuisine
    • Preparation
    • Occasion
    • Diet
    • Nutrition
1

Select () or exclude () categories to narrow your recipe search.

2

As you select categories, the number of matching recipes will update.

Make some selections to begin narrowing your results.
  • Calories
  • Amount per serving
    1. Total Fat
    2. Saturated Fat
    3. Polyunsat. Fat
    4. Monounsat. Fat
    5. Trans Fat
  • Cholesterol
  • Sodium
  • Potassium
  • Total Carbohydrates
    1. Dietary Fiber
    2. Sugars
  • Protein
  • Vitamin A
  • Vitamin B6
  • Vitamin B12
  • Vitamin C
  • Calcium
  • Iron
  • Vitamin E
  • Magnesium
  • Alcohol
  • Caffeine
  • Find exactly what you're looking for with the web's most powerful recipe filtering tool.

    You are in: Home / Chinese / Cashew Chicken Recipe
    Lost? Site Map

    Cashew Chicken

    Average Rating:

    12 Total Reviews

    Showing 1-12 of 12

    Sort by:

    • on March 22, 2003

      Absolutely delicious! I made this pretty much as written except: I didn't have white wine vinegar and used rice vinegar instead, and I used fresh ginger in place of the ground ginger. Oh, I also used 5 chicken breast HALVES. The sauce was wonderful and my family of five wiped out this meal. Thanks a lot for the recipe, I'll definitely be making this again.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on December 02, 2003

      Wow - wonderful recipe - this is an "again please recipe". I marinaded the chicken in the corn starch/soy for about 3 hours. Like the other 2 reviewers I used rice vinegar. Excellent cooking sauce! I omitted the corn starch from it . I left the chicken in the wok when I added the onions & mushrooms finally added the peppers. I did not have any snow peas (weather too miserable to go out) but they would add extra color & flavor. Used yellow, red & green peppers. Thanks BoxO'Wine for a great recipe

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on June 10, 2003

      I would like to give this recipe more than 5 stars! Absolutely fantastic! You are right when you say it is better than take-out. I used 6 boneless skinless chicken thighs. I did not have the white wine vinegar, but used rice wine vinegar in it's place. Sherry & I will make this again!!!!

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on January 23, 2009

      A lot of food for just 4 servings. Very delicious....kids loved it!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on April 30, 2008

      Excellent recipe. I,too, used rice vinegar and fresh ginger and upped the tabasco a bit. For the cashews, I roasted them in a 350 oven for about 10 minutes therefore eliminating the need to stir fry them. Served this with beef and broccoli and fried rice. Better than takeout, but lots of dishes ;-). Thanks BoxO'Wine.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on October 25, 2007

      Try adding a table spoon of Hoisen sauce

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on October 10, 2007

      This was the best cashew chicken I ever made (and I've made a few in my day!). I switched up the veggies a bit (in a hurry) and used a bag of frozen japanese veggies and a cup of frozen pea pods in place of all the fresh veggies and the baby corn. One person who critiqued the recipe said they used fresh ginger, which is really what I think they are looking for in the recipe, but I used 1/4 tsp of dried ground ginger mixed in the cooking sauce instead. I didn't take the chicken out of the pan before I added veggies (too much putzing. . . I just pushed it to the side). Only other thing is I would add a bit more tobasco for a little more kick - but I had to keep it tame for the kids. this was quick, easy and definitely a keep at our house!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on July 21, 2005

      A very colourful dish! I did this together with virus (she lives just around the corner, i introduced her to zaar, she's got the zaar virus now too :o))The taste was nice, however, we didn't use fresh ginger, as I thought ground ginger is the dry stuff. Well, since you have to add it with the vegies, i guess it's supposed to be fresh ginger. Anyway, we think it would taste better with the fresh stuff, so next time, we'll use it fresh. Virus also missed the sauce! Well, she's a saucy girl :o)

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on April 25, 2005

      very good, thumbs up!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on April 05, 2005

      Very, very good. I used canola oil as I didn't have any peanut oil and did not want to spend the money and risk I wouldn't like it. I thought it had plenty of nutty taste from the cashews. My husband just raved about this meal. Will be making it again. Thanks

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on March 05, 2005

      Lovely, fresh-tasting and colourful dish! I omitted both optional ingredients (mushrooms and corn) as we don't care for either of them, but there was still plenty of crunchy veggie goodness! Also skimped on the peanut oil - I used all in all 3 tablespoons. Otherwise followed the recipe and was *very* pleased with the results. Thanks for a great recipe!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on January 26, 2004

      This was excellent! Made it exactly as directed except I used frozen french cut greeen beans instead of snow peas (snow peas looked terrible at my grocer) Great dinner...served with brown rice, very filling and deliciious dinner

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    « Previous 1 Next »

    Advertisement

    Nutritional Facts for Cashew Chicken

    Serving Size: 1 (393 g)

    Servings Per Recipe: 4

    Amount Per Serving
    % Daily Value
    Calories 619.6
     
    Calories from Fat 388
    62%
    Total Fat 43.1 g
    66%
    Saturated Fat 8.5 g
    42%
    Cholesterol 46.4 mg
    15%
    Sodium 1781.3 mg
    74%
    Total Carbohydrate 31.7 g
    10%
    Dietary Fiber 4.5 g
    18%
    Sugars 11.5 g
    46%
    Protein 25.8 g
    51%

    The following items or measurements are not included:

    white wine vinegar

    Advertisement


    Food.com Network of Sites

    • Mexican Recipes
    • Chinese Recipes
    • Australian Recipes
    • Breakfast Recipes
    • Greek Recipes
    • Restaurant Recipes
    • Italian Recipes
    • Christmas Recipes
    • Thanksgiving Recipes
    • Southern Recipes
    • Dessert Recipes
    • Deep Fried Recipes
    • Thai Recipes
    • Low Cholesterol Recipes
    • Indian Recipes
    • Healthy Recipes
    • Meatloaf Recipes