12 Reviews

Absolutely delicious! I made this pretty much as written except: I didn't have white wine vinegar and used rice vinegar instead, and I used fresh ginger in place of the ground ginger. Oh, I also used 5 chicken breast HALVES. The sauce was wonderful and my family of five wiped out this meal. Thanks a lot for the recipe, I'll definitely be making this again.

2 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Hey Jude March 22, 2003

Wow - wonderful recipe - this is an "again please recipe". I marinaded the chicken in the corn starch/soy for about 3 hours. Like the other 2 reviewers I used rice vinegar. Excellent cooking sauce! I omitted the corn starch from it . I left the chicken in the wok when I added the onions & mushrooms finally added the peppers. I did not have any snow peas (weather too miserable to go out) but they would add extra color & flavor. Used yellow, red & green peppers. Thanks BoxO'Wine for a great recipe

1 person found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Bergy December 02, 2003

I would like to give this recipe more than 5 stars! Absolutely fantastic! You are right when you say it is better than take-out. I used 6 boneless skinless chicken thighs. I did not have the white wine vinegar, but used rice wine vinegar in it's place. Sherry & I will make this again!!!!

1 person found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
James Craig June 10, 2003

A lot of food for just 4 servings. Very delicious....kids loved it!

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
myMama January 23, 2009

Excellent recipe. I,too, used rice vinegar and fresh ginger and upped the tabasco a bit. For the cashews, I roasted them in a 350 oven for about 10 minutes therefore eliminating the need to stir fry them. Served this with beef and broccoli and fried rice. Better than takeout, but lots of dishes ;-). Thanks BoxO'Wine.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Jan in Lanark April 30, 2008

Try adding a table spoon of Hoisen sauce

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
mikebrowningmcse October 25, 2007

This was the best cashew chicken I ever made (and I've made a few in my day!). I switched up the veggies a bit (in a hurry) and used a bag of frozen japanese veggies and a cup of frozen pea pods in place of all the fresh veggies and the baby corn. One person who critiqued the recipe said they used fresh ginger, which is really what I think they are looking for in the recipe, but I used 1/4 tsp of dried ground ginger mixed in the cooking sauce instead. I didn't take the chicken out of the pan before I added veggies (too much putzing. . . I just pushed it to the side). Only other thing is I would add a bit more tobasco for a little more kick - but I had to keep it tame for the kids. this was quick, easy and definitely a keep at our house!

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
brendaandeddie October 10, 2007

A very colourful dish! I did this together with virus (she lives just around the corner, i introduced her to zaar, she's got the zaar virus now too :o))The taste was nice, however, we didn't use fresh ginger, as I thought ground ginger is the dry stuff. Well, since you have to add it with the vegies, i guess it's supposed to be fresh ginger. Anyway, we think it would taste better with the fresh stuff, so next time, we'll use it fresh. Virus also missed the sauce! Well, she's a saucy girl :o)

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
tigerduck July 21, 2005

very good, thumbs up!

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
SLS #04093 April 25, 2005

Very, very good. I used canola oil as I didn't have any peanut oil and did not want to spend the money and risk I wouldn't like it. I thought it had plenty of nutty taste from the cashews. My husband just raved about this meal. Will be making it again. Thanks

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Mannymom April 05, 2005
Cashew Chicken