Recipe Sifter

X
  • Start Here
    • Course
    • Main Ingredient
    • Cuisine
    • Preparation
    • Occasion
    • Diet
    • Nutrition
1

Select () or exclude () categories to narrow your recipe search.

2

As you select categories, the number of matching recipes will update.

Make some selections to begin narrowing your results.
  • Calories
  • Amount per serving
    1. Total Fat
    2. Saturated Fat
    3. Polyunsat. Fat
    4. Monounsat. Fat
    5. Trans Fat
  • Cholesterol
  • Sodium
  • Potassium
  • Total Carbohydrates
    1. Dietary Fiber
    2. Sugars
  • Protein
  • Vitamin A
  • Vitamin B6
  • Vitamin B12
  • Vitamin C
  • Calcium
  • Iron
  • Vitamin E
  • Magnesium
  • Alcohol
  • Caffeine
  • Find exactly what you're looking for with the web's most powerful recipe filtering tool.

    You are in: Home / Chinese / Cashew Chicken Recipe
    Lost? Site Map

    Cashew Chicken

    Average Rating:

    15 Total Reviews

    Showing 1-15 of 15

    Sort by:

    • on October 30, 2002

      Probably the best Chinese I've ever cooked. I didn't have the hoisin sauce, but even without, it was terrific.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on August 27, 2002

      I love this dish! It's very tasty. My family loved it.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on July 30, 2012

      This was incredible! The first time I've ever made Chinese food that was anything like restaurant-quality. My whole family inhaled it, and I can't wait to have the leftovers (of which there wasn't much) for lunch tomorrow. I added some soy sauce along with the hoisin at the end, and put garlic and ginger in the chicken marinade.

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on February 10, 2011

      Yummy, and so easy to make!javascript:postComment();
      My Adjustments: I added 1/4 tsp of ground ginger to the marinade and omitted the egg and cornstarch.
      I used 1 tablespoon to cook chicken and another later to cook the vegetables: This cut back the high calorie count of this dish.
      It was healthy and very tasty!

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on August 24, 2009

      Excellent. I added some baby California vegetables because we like a lot of veggies and substituted chicken broth for the oil in the marinade. Really good.

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on December 30, 2008

      My hubby loved it. I loved how easy it was to make. We can't have Hoisin because of the wheat so I substituted mango chutney & chipotle sauce (it's the closest I could get to the flavor of hoisin)

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on April 20, 2008

      I just made this and my boyfriend ate two servings in less than 15 minutes! I doubled the recipe. I also used red wine vinegar in place of the sherry. This recipe works just fine in a skillet. You will just have to adjust cooking times to accomodate as a skillet doesn't cook the way a wok does. Overall very good and tasty. Will definately make again.

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on July 05, 2010

      Very nice flavour easy to make. I did add some chicken stock and cornflour near the end as we do like to have "gravy" on our stirfrys. DH says its a keeper.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on March 09, 2010

      Because of the rave reviews, I tried this dish. I was a bit shocked by the off-the-chart calorie count, which I assume had to do with the 1 cup of oil in the marinade. I only added about 1-2 tablespoons instead. It was good, but just not what I would consider take-out quality.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on August 05, 2006

      Awesome! I love Cashew Chicken and this has to be one of the best I have ever tasted, and to think I can make it in my own kitchen. Made as directed, using 3 drops of sesame oil. The combination of chicken and the suggested vegetables were perfect for us. It's a keeper! Thank you Tgobbi for sharing your special recipe from your restaurant menu. That must have been one successful restaurant!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on July 29, 2006

      Wonerful, but I made some changes in the preparation because I had to serve 26 for a restaurant and also was requested to make it with sauce. So, I gently poached the chicken breasts, let cool slightly, cut into cubes. Very tender. Then I dry pan roasted the cashews, and cut all of the veges, including red and green peppers, water chestnuts, mushrooms and sauted them in a very little sesame oil until just very hot and still crispy. Made the "marinade" as a sauce, seperately, by quadrupling the ingredients and including the hoisin (didn't put the hoisin in the veges. To serve, I mixed the chicken, cashews and veges together, placed beside rice, put a good ammount of the very hot sauce on top, added very gently sauted snow peas. Beautiful to look at and tasted great.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on June 01, 2006

      I greatly reduced the amount of oil but the chicken still tasted terrific. (I used dark soy, not kecap manis) What was disappointing was the vegetables. They tasted just like hoisin sauce (yes I know that should be quite obvious) which has a strong distinctive flavour. Admittedly I used different vegetables which may have made a difference. I'm used to eating dishes where the hoisin is integrated with other flavours. Overall a very nice dish and fabulous if you like hoisin.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on June 26, 2004

      This was very good. A colorful dish, with lots of tasty veggies. For health reasons, I reduced the oil greatly and just stir fried the chicken, adjusting the coooking time to accomodate this - which worked out great. Very easy to prepare, and very tasty.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on April 27, 2004

      Excellent way to eat a chicken breast. Delicious. If attempting to multi-task, don't do as I did and add the oil to the marinade ingredients; it's for the wok. This recipe is so easy I was able to make it outdoors on a small portable burner during a power outage. I will double up on the hoisin sauce and stock next time. Makes a great sauce and I'd enjoy more of it.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on April 11, 2004

      I made this dish for a pair of 80 year olds. Well! It was like THAT scene from 'When Harry Met Sally' in stereo! Between moans and groans of appreciation the ladies mumbled '5 stars'! I feared I had made their helpings too large, but they said, 'We're not leaving one grain of rice!' I made the marinade as directed (dark soy sauce is labelled kecap manis/sweet soy sauce in Australia and cornstarch is cornflour). I used 2 large chicken breasts. For vegetables, I used a small (125g) can of water chestnuts, about 1/4 of a large red capsicum (sliced), about a cup of sliced mushrooms and a whole, 125g packet, of cashews (lightly fried in a pan with a little oil). I also added about 2 dozen green beans. The marinade gave the chicken a wonderful tender, silky texture. The sesame oil adds to the complexity of the dish. I used 3 tablespoons of hoi sin sauce because we like our food a little more highly flavoured. With the quantities I used, and served with steamed rice, this recipe would easily serve four as a main course. An excellent recipe!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    « Previous 1 Next »

    Advertisement

    Nutritional Facts for Cashew Chicken

    Serving Size: 1 (205 g)

    Servings Per Recipe: 2

    Amount Per Serving
    % Daily Value
    Calories 1543.2
     
    Calories from Fat 1295
    83%
    Total Fat 143.9 g
    221%
    Saturated Fat 21.9 g
    109%
    Cholesterol 166.1 mg
    55%
    Sodium 1675.7 mg
    69%
    Total Carbohydrate 32.5 g
    10%
    Dietary Fiber 3.3 g
    13%
    Sugars 9.1 g
    36%
    Protein 34.8 g
    69%

    Advertisement


    Food.com Network of Sites

    • Mexican Recipes
    • Chinese Recipes
    • Australian Recipes
    • Breakfast Recipes
    • Greek Recipes
    • Restaurant Recipes
    • Italian Recipes
    • Christmas Recipes
    • Thanksgiving Recipes
    • Southern Recipes
    • Dessert Recipes
    • Deep Fried Recipes
    • Thai Recipes
    • Low Cholesterol Recipes
    • Indian Recipes
    • Healthy Recipes
    • Meatloaf Recipes