15 Reviews

  • Most Helpful
  • Newest
  • Highest Rating

Probably the best Chinese I've ever cooked. I didn't have the hoisin sauce, but even without, it was terrific.

5 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Karen from Montana October 30, 2002

I love this dish! It's very tasty. My family loved it.

3 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Upsidedown Again August 27, 2002

This was incredible! The first time I've ever made Chinese food that was anything like restaurant-quality. My whole family inhaled it, and I can't wait to have the leftovers (of which there wasn't much) for lunch tomorrow. I added some soy sauce along with the hoisin at the end, and put garlic and ginger in the chicken marinade.

1 person found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Julie B. July 30, 2012

Yummy, and so easy to make!javascript:postComment();
My Adjustments: I added 1/4 tsp of ground ginger to the marinade and omitted the egg and cornstarch.
I used 1 tablespoon to cook chicken and another later to cook the vegetables: This cut back the high calorie count of this dish.
It was healthy and very tasty!

1 person found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
TeacherLaLa February 10, 2011

Excellent. I added some baby California vegetables because we like a lot of veggies and substituted chicken broth for the oil in the marinade. Really good.

1 person found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Funda August 24, 2009

My hubby loved it. I loved how easy it was to make. We can't have Hoisin because of the wheat so I substituted mango chutney & chipotle sauce (it's the closest I could get to the flavor of hoisin)

1 person found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
in the garden December 30, 2008

I just made this and my boyfriend ate two servings in less than 15 minutes! I doubled the recipe. I also used red wine vinegar in place of the sherry. This recipe works just fine in a skillet. You will just have to adjust cooking times to accomodate as a skillet doesn't cook the way a wok does. Overall very good and tasty. Will definately make again.

1 person found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
theresafitzsimons April 20, 2008

Very nice flavour easy to make. I did add some chicken stock and cornflour near the end as we do like to have "gravy" on our stirfrys. DH says its a keeper.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Kiro Sushi July 05, 2010

Because of the rave reviews, I tried this dish. I was a bit shocked by the off-the-chart calorie count, which I assume had to do with the 1 cup of oil in the marinade. I only added about 1-2 tablespoons instead. It was good, but just not what I would consider take-out quality.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
CraftyDiane March 09, 2010

Awesome! I love Cashew Chicken and this has to be one of the best I have ever tasted, and to think I can make it in my own kitchen. Made as directed, using 3 drops of sesame oil. The combination of chicken and the suggested vegetables were perfect for us. It's a keeper! Thank you Tgobbi for sharing your special recipe from your restaurant menu. That must have been one successful restaurant!

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Gerry August 05, 2006
Cashew Chicken