Recipe Sifter

X
  • Start Here
    • Course
    • Main Ingredient
    • Cuisine
    • Preparation
    • Occasion
    • Diet
    • Nutrition
1

Select () or exclude () categories to narrow your recipe search.

2

As you select categories, the number of matching recipes will update.

Make some selections to begin narrowing your results.
  • Calories
  • Amount per serving
    1. Total Fat
    2. Saturated Fat
    3. Polyunsat. Fat
    4. Monounsat. Fat
    5. Trans Fat
  • Cholesterol
  • Sodium
  • Potassium
  • Total Carbohydrates
    1. Dietary Fiber
    2. Sugars
  • Protein
  • Vitamin A
  • Vitamin B6
  • Vitamin B12
  • Vitamin C
  • Calcium
  • Iron
  • Vitamin E
  • Magnesium
  • Alcohol
  • Caffeine
  • Find exactly what you're looking for with the web's most powerful recipe filtering tool.

    You are in: Home / Chinese / Cashew Chicken Recipe
    Lost? Site Map

    Cashew Chicken

    Average Rating:

    75 Total Reviews

    Showing 1-20 of 75

    Sort by:

    • on September 24, 2001

      Excellent recipe! Definitely restaurant quality. I substitued the carrots and snowpeas with a 16oz bag of oriental mix frozen vegetables. I think the cashews are a nice touch, but not necessary as it is the sauce that makes this dish. The ginger gives this dish a wonderful flavor.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on March 24, 2002

      This is so good. I can totally recommend it. Very tasty and such tender chicken. A delight!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on June 10, 2002

      This was really tasty, I used half a green bell pepper and half a red one. The cayenne gives just the right 'bite'. We all loved this and will make it again. Thanks for posting.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on June 13, 2002

      Definately restaurant quality. Didn't have snow peas and I used boneless, skinless chicken thighs. It was excellent. Will definately make this again!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on September 16, 2001

      An excellent hearty meal...wonderful...too good....great recipe....Feel like eating up this page on Recipezaar right now!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on January 04, 2003

      Awesome dish!!! We all loved it and my son who doesn't like pea pods has changed his mind. I think next time I will cut the cayenne pepper by 1/2 to cut down on the bite. My husband loved it as is but my 8 year olds ate it and thought it was good too but drank a lot of extra milk. I might cut down on the amount of cashews only to cut down a bit on the calories. It's a keeper in this house!!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on January 26, 2003

      This is a really fantastic dish. The sauce so flavorful without being overly spicy (much to my husband's delight). You're right about the restaurant quality. Thanks so much for sharing.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on January 22, 2003

      Easy, super super tasting dish! Thought I had cayenne pepper and then found out I didn't. It was still very tasty. Next time I will add a pinch I think. Also did not add the veggies, and again, still a stellar dish! Both daughter and husband gave it two thumbs up! Thanks, Dawn!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on December 23, 2002

      This dish is incredible. Has a huge burst of flavor thanks to the fresh ginger and yummy sauce. Very easy to make too. My family enjoyed it immensely. Thanks Dawn, for sharing your recipe.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on December 06, 2002

      OMG! This is sooooo good! I am chowing down as we speak. Mine looks a little funny, as I had to use green catsup, but that did not affect the taste one bit! I even fooled my stepson by chopping the onion into teeny tiny pieces so that he wouldn't notice them! I will surely make this again!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on September 20, 2002

      I made this last night and I have to say it is the best Cashew Chicken I have ever eaten! Thanks

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on March 13, 2002

      Very special. Thanks Dawn.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on October 18, 2001

    • on September 17, 2008

      We love chinese food and I was excited to prepare this dish for my family. It was VERY ketchup-y and not very good. It was edible, but mostly I ate it because I had spent so much time preparing it! I am going to keep looking for a chicken cashew recipe!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on June 27, 2003

      For some reason, when cooking the chicken, ginger, garlic and onion, the cornstarch seemed to separate from the chicken, forming globs that stuck to my pan. Maybe I had the heat too high, or needed more oil . . . not sure, but next time I think I'll mix the cornstarch in with the catsup/soysauce mixture to avoid this. Otherwise, a very good dish, although my kids thought it had too much heat.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on August 23, 2012

      About as Asian as hot dogs. Who could like this? Have they never tasted chinese food before?
      I would like to add that the one thing this recipe contributed was the mixture of soy and Worcestershire sauce. I never knew those two tasted so good together. I'll use that in the future, but as for this recipe.... KETCHUP? Why did I think that would be OK?

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on January 03, 2010

      This is the best recipe I have ever tried-I highly recommend it

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on March 04, 2009

      This was a great recipe. It was easy to make, not to complicated if you read instructions all the way through. Ingredients were easy to find and I live in Germany, use low sodium soy sauce to cut down on the salt if desired. Be careful though, its so good my hubby said he's not taking me out for Chinese anymore-this was better!

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on March 01, 2009

      I made this for dinner one night and didn't have my fill of it, so I made it for my lunch, too! It was that good. I admit to making a mistake the first time and got the worcestershire/soy sauce amounts reversed, but it was equally good both ways. I used thin cut chicken breasts, and loved the size! I love the dark red sauce, so rich in color and just the right amount of sweetness. I find regular Chinese restaurant dishes too sweet these days, so I'll be making this one again soon! Thanks Dawn! Roxygirl

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on January 21, 2009

      This is a delicious Cashew Chicken. I made it with only two half chicken breasts but the rest as written. We liked the sauce. It was so good and a little spicy but not bad. We will be having this many times in the future.

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    « Previous 1 2 3 4

    Advertisement

    Nutritional Facts for Cashew Chicken

    Serving Size: 1 (406 g)

    Servings Per Recipe: 4

    Amount Per Serving
    % Daily Value
    Calories 1079.2
     
    Calories from Fat 540
    50%
    Total Fat 60.0 g
    92%
    Saturated Fat 12.6 g
    63%
    Cholesterol 139.2 mg
    46%
    Sodium 1774.0 mg
    73%
    Total Carbohydrate 78.5 g
    26%
    Dietary Fiber 5.2 g
    20%
    Sugars 25.7 g
    103%
    Protein 59.6 g
    119%

    Advertisement


    Over 475,000 Recipes

    Food.com Network of Sites