Recipe Sifter

X
  • Start Here
    • Course
    • Main Ingredient
    • Cuisine
    • Preparation
    • Occasion
    • Diet
    • Nutrition
1

Select () or exclude () categories to narrow your recipe search.

2

As you select categories, the number of matching recipes will update.

Make some selections to begin narrowing your results.
  • Calories
  • Amount per serving
    1. Total Fat
    2. Saturated Fat
    3. Polyunsat. Fat
    4. Monounsat. Fat
    5. Trans Fat
  • Cholesterol
  • Sodium
  • Potassium
  • Total Carbohydrates
    1. Dietary Fiber
    2. Sugars
  • Protein
  • Vitamin A
  • Vitamin B6
  • Vitamin B12
  • Vitamin C
  • Calcium
  • Iron
  • Vitamin E
  • Magnesium
  • Alcohol
  • Caffeine
  • Find exactly what you're looking for with the web's most powerful recipe filtering tool.

    You are in: Home / Chinese / Cantonese Chow Mein Recipe
    Lost? Site Map

    Cantonese Chow Mein

    Average Rating:

    12 Total Reviews

    Showing 1-12 of 12

    Sort by:

    • on January 23, 2012

      We really enjoyed this. The sauce and noodles are what makes this great. I cheated and used a bag of frozen Asian style vegetables (broccoli, carrots, baby corn, etc), and chicken. I look forward to making it again with fresh vegetables and with the pork and shrimp. For the sauce I substituted 1 teaspoon of chicken base instead of the bouillion, and skipped the salt. Also took the suggestion and added a splash of rice wine when cooking the meat, and added an extra 1/4 cup water to the sauce.

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on September 23, 2011

      This was beyond wonderful. Far better than any takeout I have ever had from anywhere.The sorry excuse for a local Chinese takeout has reason to be very afraid indeed ; ) I omitted the salt altogether, upped the oyster sauce by an extra 1/2 tsp, did emply the the rice wine, and added in bean sprouts to compensate for my lack of cauliflower. I had to use up leftover roast beef and half a bag of thawed tiger shrimp so subbed those for the meats listed. Served topped with chopped scallions and sesame seed.

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on January 29, 2009

      Loved this dish. I used Chinese BBQ Pork with Garlic Sauce for the Chinese bbq pork, chicken breast and cooked shrimp. I couldn't get baby bok choy so used regular. Made with Soba noodles and then fried as directed. It has great flavor and looks wonderful on the plate. Took some time but was worth it. Do try this one.

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on February 07, 2012

      Really good! The sauce was perfectly flavored (although the sodium content is a little scary). I was cooking sticky pork separately, so I didn't include any meat here. I used veggies we had around the house - broccoli, bean sprouts, carrots, a little celery, onion & some green onion. Blanched the noodles in the wok. Steamed the broccoli & carrots in the microwave instead of blanching them and just stir fried the rest. Added about an extra 1/2 cup or so of water for more sauce.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on June 05, 2011

      The only Chinese Takeout that produced a quality product in our small city parlayed their success into the purchase of a full size restaurant in a nearby larger center . I tried this recipe and was stunned at how well it turned out . A scary thought for the remaining Chinese restaurants that I now make the best Cantonese Chow Mein in a city of 35,000

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on April 03, 2011

      Delicous! I have been making my own Chow Mein for a while now but have always been disappointed in the sauce so to find this recipe it made my day. I followed the directions exactly for the sauce even adding a little of the rice wine. I use green cabbage, snow peas, carrots, yellow onion and bean sprouts to make a veggi chow mein.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on June 03, 2008

      Fantastic! The sauce was perfect. The one thing that I did differently was that once I had boiled and drained the egg noodles, I tossed them in a bit of olive oil and spread them on a cookie sheet and baked them on low. Still had crunch but much less fat and easier to work with :)

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on April 07, 2008

      Delicious! Time consuming, but worth the effort. I live in Italy where good Chinese is hard to find so this dish is much appreciated. My fiancee's family love it, even his 90 year old grandmother! Bean sprouts are also a nice addition.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on February 24, 2008

      I always order this from the restaurants, but decided to try it myself. It came out excellent. Even my veggie-phobic husband enjoyed it. I only used chicken and used light olive oil for the stir-frying. I also added a couple teaspoons of soy sauce to the flavoring mix. I also did not use as much salt as the recipe called for. Thanks for sharing this recipe. It was definitely a winner.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on February 08, 2008

      Here in Cabo San Lucas, Mexico we don't have a chinese shop, so we had to make some substitutions (white mushrooms for shitake,more other veggies for bok choy. But, it was delicious and we'll definitely make it again.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on December 13, 2007

      This recipe is fantastic . I didn`t have bok choy or cauliflower . Actually to be honest with you i made it 2 nights in a row . :)

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on November 09, 2006

    « Previous 1 Next »

    Advertisement

    Nutritional Facts for Cantonese Chow Mein

    Serving Size: 1 (292 g)

    Servings Per Recipe: 4

    Amount Per Serving
    % Daily Value
    Calories 466.9
     
    Calories from Fat 288
    61%
    Total Fat 32.0 g
    49%
    Saturated Fat 7.0 g
    35%
    Cholesterol 84.9 mg
    28%
    Sodium 908.2 mg
    37%
    Total Carbohydrate 14.6 g
    4%
    Dietary Fiber 1.9 g
    7%
    Sugars 4.1 g
    16%
    Protein 30.6 g
    61%

    The following items or measurements are not included:

    shrimp

    shiitake mushrooms

    fresh egg noodles

    Advertisement


    Over 475,000 Recipes

    Food.com Network of Sites