Recipe Sifter

X
  • Start Here
    • Course
    • Main Ingredient
    • Cuisine
    • Preparation
    • Occasion
    • Diet
    • Nutrition
1

Select () or exclude () categories to narrow your recipe search.

2

As you select categories, the number of matching recipes will update.

Make some selections to begin narrowing your results.
  • Calories
  • Amount per serving
    1. Total Fat
    2. Saturated Fat
    3. Polyunsat. Fat
    4. Monounsat. Fat
    5. Trans Fat
  • Cholesterol
  • Sodium
  • Potassium
  • Total Carbohydrates
    1. Dietary Fiber
    2. Sugars
  • Protein
  • Vitamin A
  • Vitamin B6
  • Vitamin B12
  • Vitamin C
  • Calcium
  • Iron
  • Vitamin E
  • Magnesium
  • Alcohol
  • Caffeine
  • Find exactly what you're looking for with the web's most powerful recipe filtering tool.

    You are in: Home / Chinese / Cantonese Brown Sauce Recipe
    Lost? Site Map

    Cantonese Brown Sauce

    Average Rating:

    16 Total Reviews

    Showing 1-16 of 16

    Sort by:

    • on November 17, 2011

      Perfect with Ramen Noodle Egg Foo Yung. My family love it! Thanks!

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on May 01, 2008

      It comes as a bit of an embarrassment that this recipe was posted by the first owner of the recipe in response to a recipe request I made in 2002. Shamefully, I had forgotten about it. It came to light again just this week while making Potscrubber's Ramen Noodle Egg Foo Yung. I finally made the sauce recipe to accompany Potsie's recipe, as he suggested. For the bottom line, the sauce was good, but a tad salty for me, so I would cut back a little on the oyster sauce by about a teaspoon if I made this again. Thanks for posting. ~Sue

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on February 06, 2008

      I made this to go with Pot Scrubber's Ramen Noodle Egg Foo Young and it was great! I added 1/4 teaspoon of dried ginger to spice it up a bit. Easy to make and delicious.

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on February 07, 2007

      I've just made this up ready to have on some egg foo yung for lunch. Really nice sauce. Instead of cooking on the stove top I cooked in the microwave in my pyrex jug. Thanks for posting.

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on June 25, 2013

      I made this with the ramen noodle egg foo yung. I made it for my parents and my mom didn't have beef bouillon or beef broth, but she had chicken bouillon instead. It came out absolutely yummy!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on October 21, 2012

      Very good sauce, I enjoyed it very much. Used it with Ramen Noodle Egg Foo Yung.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on January 07, 2010

      This was just OK. I think it would be better for a single person. Easy to fix, but my DH didn't think it was great. I liked it OK.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on December 06, 2009

      I used a sodium free packet of beef seasonings to make the drippings and a light soy sauce as that is what I had on hand. Made this to accompany Ramen Noodle Egg Foo Yung.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on August 10, 2008

      We enjoyed this sauce a lot. I was making Ramen Noodle Egg Foo Yung and on the chef's recommendation made this sauce to go with it. I will be using the sauce often for other things too. I used homemade beef stock and didn't have a problem with saltiness. Thanks for sharing the recipe!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on May 09, 2008

      I really enjoyed this sauce, but I thought it needed a little more spice in it. I think next time, I'm going to add some garlic and red pepper - make it a bit spicier. This was great with #133513. It wasn't terribly salty, though, as I used the lower sodium soy sauce instead. I typically do because I don't like a lot of salt. Anyway, thanks for posting this recipe! I know I can use this is a great base for lots of stuff!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on February 20, 2008

      I made this to go with egg foo yung. It was a good sauce, that you can use for many different dishes....thanks for posting. Stephanie

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on February 05, 2008

      I used this as a topping for Ramen Noodle Egg Foo Yung . It complimented it beautifully. I did take about 1 t. of minced garlic and sauteed it lightly in a bit of oil (draining well after it was cooked) before adding the other ingredients. It has a subtle rich flavor that was quite good.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on February 01, 2008

      I am sorry to give this a lower rating than others have, but I just made it exactly as directed, and I was disappointed with its overall bland flavor. I ended up adding some dark sesame oil to perk it up a bit, but it still wasn't what I had expected, tho it did improve it just a tad. I did not use it for egg foo yung, but rather with stir fried veggies, and maybe that was where my problem was. It wasn't bad, it just didn't do much for the veggies, and I really wanted it to work. Neither my DH nor I think we want to use it again, at least not for veggies. For those who want to try it, I have to say that it is a very easy recipe to follow, and it took less than 10 minutes from start to finish.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on December 11, 2006

      This is the best egg foo yung sauce I have ever had. Perfect just as is and not too overly seasoned or salty.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on April 15, 2005

      Thanks Mean and thanks to Paula in WI for the link to your recipe. I have tried a number of recipes that would have benefitted from the flavorful finish that your brown sauce provides!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on May 02, 2004

      Awesome! I made this sauce with Lorac's Egg Foo Yung and it was fantastic! Just the right blend of flavors. Thanks Mean Chef!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    « Previous 1 Next »

    Advertisement

    Nutritional Facts for Cantonese Brown Sauce

    Serving Size: 1 (179 g)

    Servings Per Recipe: 1

    Amount Per Serving
    % Daily Value
    Calories 146.8
     
    Calories from Fat 4
    81%
    Total Fat 0.4 g
    0%
    Saturated Fat 0.0 g
    0%
    Cholesterol 0.0 mg
    0%
    Sodium 5305.0 mg
    221%
    Total Carbohydrate 32.3 g
    10%
    Dietary Fiber 0.6 g
    2%
    Sugars 2.9 g
    11%
    Protein 3.2 g
    6%

    The following items or measurements are not included:

    meat drippings

    Advertisement


    Food.com Network of Sites

    • Mexican Recipes
    • Chinese Recipes
    • Australian Recipes
    • Breakfast Recipes
    • Greek Recipes
    • Restaurant Recipes
    • Italian Recipes
    • Christmas Recipes
    • Thanksgiving Recipes
    • Southern Recipes
    • Dessert Recipes
    • Deep Fried Recipes
    • Thai Recipes
    • Low Cholesterol Recipes
    • Indian Recipes
    • Healthy Recipes
    • Meatloaf Recipes