Recipe Sifter

X
  • Start Here
    • Course
    • Main Ingredient
    • Cuisine
    • Preparation
    • Occasion
    • Diet
    • Nutrition
1

Select () or exclude () categories to narrow your recipe search.

2

As you select categories, the number of matching recipes will update.

Make some selections to begin narrowing your results.
  • Calories
  • Amount per serving
    1. Total Fat
    2. Saturated Fat
    3. Polyunsat. Fat
    4. Monounsat. Fat
    5. Trans Fat
  • Cholesterol
  • Sodium
  • Potassium
  • Total Carbohydrates
    1. Dietary Fiber
    2. Sugars
  • Protein
  • Vitamin A
  • Vitamin B6
  • Vitamin B12
  • Vitamin C
  • Calcium
  • Iron
  • Vitamin E
  • Magnesium
  • Alcohol
  • Caffeine
  • Find exactly what you're looking for with the web's most powerful recipe filtering tool.

    You are in: Home / Chinese / Bergy Dim Sum #5, Steamed Shrimp Dumplings Recipe
    Lost? Site Map

    Bergy Dim Sum #5, Steamed Shrimp Dumplings

    Average Rating:

    11 Total Reviews

    Showing 1-11 of 11

    Sort by:

    • on May 30, 2002

      Made these for dinner using a vegetable filling, this dumpling dough is the same as restuarants. Fantastic. I made the dumpling much bigger because I made them for a meal. Just cooked them a little longer. I am addicted to these.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on March 22, 2003

      excellent filling. i found the dough to be a bit chewy when steamed. So, for the second batch, i dropped them in boiling water for a few minutes and the dough was much better . thanks for sharing :)

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on January 23, 2003

      These turned out great. I used minced chicken instead of the shrimp and added grated ginger and rice vinegar to the mix. I had some trouble with the dough. I had to add extra flour to get it 'springy' and as a result I think I didn't get exactly the right texture. Regardless, they were delicious. I steamed them with some baby bok choi and made a dipping sauce of equal parts rice vinegar and soy sauce. Thanks Bergy!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on February 24, 2002

      Bergy, I can't believe Lali hasn't rated this. She is the one who told me about it. This was one of my dishes on "Chinese" night. A Great Success!!!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on October 10, 2010

      "Success wasn't easy but well worth the extra effort!" The shrimp filling is "delish". I did add some minced chives and 1/4 tsp minced ginger, (left-over from making Rita's Stir Fried Spicy Cabbage) & some garlic powder. I used about 8 oz.shrimp.(The rest of what I had) It was good that I did. I had to use your wooden spoon method for mixing the dough. 3/4 C of hot water wasn't enough and I had to add a little more water.(probably more than I should have) I did get a springy dough but I needed to add more flour while rolling. Any problem I had was my fault. Evenso, the result was better than any dumplings that I have eaten since traveling through China. The dough was light and tender. I got 18 dumplings. Served them with a mixture of chili oil, soy sauce and rice vinagar & the stir fried cabbage. Left-overs were fried the next day and were also "delish". This recipe is a keeper and I will master the dough. I also plan to make more to freeze. I want these handy. Thank you Bergy. :)

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on October 18, 2013

      Wow, this are fantastic! I made them not knowing how they would be but , oh my, they are delicious. I will be making them again with any Asian meal I make. Thank you for sharing with us, we loved them.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on September 04, 2007

      These dumplings were great! I found this recipe after having some shrimp dumplings at a restaurant. My husband wanted me to re-create them. The filling and dough had a great flavor. We think they were even better than the restaurant! Thanks for the great recipe.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on March 12, 2007

      I just made the dumplinmg dough so thats all I am rating BUT it was great. Stuffed it with leftover chicken and lettuce wrap filling then boiled them, then pan fired to crisp the dough up. Very easy to work with, will use and make again!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on May 13, 2006

      This is a pseudo-hargow. FYI, real hargow has a transparent skin after steaming, meaning it is made using a mix of wheat starch and potato starch. The skin is the most important part of a hargow. This recipe would more aptly be called a shrimp potsticker.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on January 25, 2006

      This dough is really easy to make in the food processor. My 13 year old son loved the shrimp filling. I only had bamboo shoots so I used them instead of the water chestnuts. I cooked these like a pot sticker and loved the dough. It tastes much better than store bought dumpling wrappers. Thanks for the recipe.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on January 03, 2006

      This was absolutley fantastic, and so impressive looking! I had these on my list of things to make for quite some time, but I am always afraid of making dough LOL! This dough was easy to work with and turned out perfectly. I boiled mine as I have always preferred them that way, but otherwise made as specified. Well written, easy to follow, no fail recipe. Thanks Bergy!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    « Previous 1 Next »

    Advertisement

    Nutritional Facts for Bergy Dim Sum #5, Steamed Shrimp Dumplings

    Serving Size: 1 (582 g)

    Servings Per Recipe: 1

    Amount Per Serving
    % Daily Value
    Calories 50.7
     
    Calories from Fat 1
    72%
    Total Fat 0.2 g
    0%
    Saturated Fat 0.0 g
    0%
    Cholesterol 13.4 mg
    4%
    Sodium 175.8 mg
    7%
    Total Carbohydrate 9.2 g
    3%
    Dietary Fiber 0.3 g
    1%
    Sugars 0.4 g
    1%
    Protein 2.6 g
    5%

    Advertisement


    Over 475,000 Recipes

    Food.com Network of Sites