8 Reviews

Very tasty! We thought they could have been more tender. I did the boring thing & cooked them in the oven - 325F for the 1st 40 minutes & 350F for the 2nd. My only grill is a small Weber that uses charcoal. I was really worried about time/being ready before dd had to leave for ballet so I did parboil even though I generally am against the idea. (I generally just bake low & slow until they nearly melt). The sauce was splendifferous! I wonder if it would have been a touch better had I not covered the pan (it may have reduced more?) This multiplies really well! I had a 9.5 lb pack of ribs from Costco (warehouse). There isn't a lot left! Made for Aussie Swap #81 10/2013.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Elmotoo October 15, 2013

I have a real problem with this recipe... I didn't double. Really amazing. I guess I'm boring because I did the precook in the oven (didn't want to deplete my propane) and then finished on the grill. I added about one tablespoon of siracha for some zip and highly recommend. I also subbed white wine for the water. Aamazing recipe.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Vicki in CT May 31, 2010

I made this recipe last weekend for Aussie / Kiwi Swap 33. For the length of time it takes to be ready to serve, I can't say that the wait was worth while. I found it a bit tasteless, though the meat was very tender and did literally fall of the bone. My daughter though, loved it and thought it was delicious.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Kiwi Kathy October 15, 2009

This got rave reviews here! I had a cookout this weekend and everyone loved these spareribs! Not only did I need to give out the recipe to four friends but it was the first to disappear. Next time I make them I will double the recipe. Folowed the recipe exactly! Great recipe Peter!

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
RecipeNut April 15, 2008

These got rave reviews from my DBF. I went to the Chinese market to get my meat and the butcher asked if I wanted my ribs cut. I figured he knew what he was doing so I said "yes". They came out perfectly cooked in the oven at 375F. for 1 hour. I lined the pan with foil which helped with the clean-up. Now it's going to be a race tomorrow to see who gets the leftovers for lunch!

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
cookiedog February 05, 2008

What a wonderful, tasty recipe. I followed the recipe exactly except for leaving out the sugar. I'm glad I used a disposable BBQ tray, as it made cleanup so easy. We had these over plain rice as suggested, with lots of yummy sauce over them. Will definitely make again, as they also reheated well in the microwave for lunch the next day. Thanks Peter for another great recipe.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Heydarl May 21, 2007

awesome... i used all the ingredients except the last two, i did'nt want a sauce. I boiled the ribs in water for 10 min to remove excess fat, dried them and then marinaded them in all the other ingredients for 4 hours,put them on an oven tray and cooked for 1 hour at 190c turning occassionally. delicious..

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
abby 12 January 18, 2007

This was extremely good. The only thing I did not have on hand was the gingerroot. It was still great. The family loved it. I BBQ'd it for sure!! Thanks for posting.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
-Sheri- May 27, 2006
BBQ Pork Spareribs