Recipe Sifter

X
  • Start Here
    • Course
    • Main Ingredient
    • Cuisine
    • Preparation
    • Occasion
    • Diet
    • Nutrition
1

Select () or exclude () categories to narrow your recipe search.

2

As you select categories, the number of matching recipes will update.

Make some selections to begin narrowing your results.
  • Calories
  • Amount per serving
    1. Total Fat
    2. Saturated Fat
    3. Polyunsat. Fat
    4. Monounsat. Fat
    5. Trans Fat
  • Cholesterol
  • Sodium
  • Potassium
  • Total Carbohydrates
    1. Dietary Fiber
    2. Sugars
  • Protein
  • Vitamin A
  • Vitamin B6
  • Vitamin B12
  • Vitamin C
  • Calcium
  • Iron
  • Vitamin E
  • Magnesium
  • Alcohol
  • Caffeine
  • Find exactly what you're looking for with the web's most powerful recipe filtering tool.

    You are in: Home / Chinese / Barefoot Chinese Chicken Salad Recipe
    Lost? Site Map

    Barefoot Chinese Chicken Salad

    Average Rating:

    18 Total Reviews

    Showing 1-18 of 18

    Sort by:

    • on January 23, 2010

      Delicious! I used Napa Cabbage instead of asparagus, and added chopped mint and slivered almonds. This is a keeper! Easy to make.

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on August 24, 2009

      Whoa too much salt. Her book calls for 4 teaspoons. I noticed on the Food Network site it only calls for two. Wish I had put just one. You can always add more.

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on May 05, 2009

      This was tasty! I got lazy though and used a rotisserie chicken and also used a dole asian salad kit to mix some greens in with this like some others mentioned. This made a nice light dinner and was simple to make. Thanks for sharing the recipe!

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on March 29, 2009

      Delightfully different, this salad sans mayonnaise is a wonderful variation on standard chicken salads. I used shredded rotisserie chicken, leftover grilled asparagus, and roasted red pepper. I made one fourth of the recipe, which makes 2 entree size servings but more if one adds it to greens or cooked pasta. This is way too salty as written, and if one did not use Kosher salt, it could be unbearably salty unless one cuts the amount by half. I suggest using 1/4 t. for one fourth recipe next time. I used 3/4 t. this time. The balance of ingredients in the dressing is phenomenal. A great recipe for low carb dieters, this promises to be a crowd pleaser generally.

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on November 09, 2008

      This is one of the best salads I've ever had. The only change I made was to marinate the chicken in rice wine vinigar ans sesame oil and then grilled the chicken. The dressing is awsome.

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on May 09, 2008

      I made this dressing to go with a different chinese chicken salad that I put together. It was very nice. I think rice wine vinegar would go really well with this. I only used 2 teaspoons of the dark sesame oil for personal preference and did add about 1 1/2 tsp of splenda. Worked well for us. I'll make this again. Thanks

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on August 09, 2007

      I was just looking for a good asian dressing, i came across this one and was intrigued by the peanut butter! i tossed it in a pasta salada with stir fry veggies and wow! i had some left over so i took it to work and every single person asked me for the recipe!!! thanks a bunch! :)

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on July 31, 2007

      Had boring leftover grilled chicken and pepper kebabs so i diced them up and tossed with this great dressing; was wonderful! Easy and much tastier than last night's dinner and perfect in romaine lettuce cups for a healthy lunch. Thanks!

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on June 25, 2007

      i loved this! made a big batch and ate it for about 5 days straight

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on June 30, 2013

      We loved this salad. Its summer and I'm on the lookout for different salads for dinner. DH and I loved this as is but DD#2 and DS both thought it had too much asparagus. They both like asparagus so not sure where this came from. I still gave it 5 stars because they still liked the salad. I plan on making this a few more times this summer. Thank you for sharing.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on September 05, 2007

      I liked the dressing better after I added a little more vinegar, sweetener (I used Splenda) and ginger - the peanut butter's a brilliant addition. A touch of dry mustard might give it a bit more kick, as well. This was good on cold, roasted Brussels sprouts and would be good on a cold salad with shirataki noodles.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on April 02, 2007

      Excellent recipe! I will use this dressing for lots of salads. And the chicken came out so moist and tender. Wonderful!!!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on February 26, 2007

      This salad is just fabulous! The only change I would make is to reduce the salt amount. I found that with the soy and peanut butter it was a little too salty with the 4 tsp. of salt. We typically use very little salt, so this is just personal preference. Thanks for sharing such a great recipe!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on May 27, 2006

      Since it looks like there is a plethora of Chinese Chicken Salad reipes out there and I LOVE anything the 'Contessa' does, I thought I'd just comment that using a dressing very similar to this, it is KILLER on shredded cabbage, julienned carrots, sliced mushrooms, chopped parsley, chopped cilantro, chopped green onion, chopped spring garlic and sliced chicken breasts. Sprinkle with toasted slivered almonds and sesame seeds. :-) So that is my contribution without cluttering up the recipe files too much been there/done that recipes.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on December 09, 2005

      This dressing is fantastic and can work well with different seasonal variations. I also added napa cabbage, a little purple cabbage (for color) and chow mein noodles. Beautiful, delicious, a great one-dish meal.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on July 05, 2005

      Made this salad for a women's club meeting and everyone requested the recipe. Be adventurous with the salad part (I used lettuce & romaine, mandarin oranges, avocado and chopped peanuts). Everyone loved it. I added more fresh ginger plus 2 t of sugar to give it just the right zip for me. Thank you for sharing.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on February 01, 2005

      Beautiful, colorful salad and ouououou, the dressing. LOVED it. I like met0813's suggestion of adding lettuce or cabbage. I think I'll try nappa cabbage next time and double the dressing to accomodate it. Only change I made was to use crunchy peanut butter (that's what I had on hand) and I don't think that was a problem at all. I thought the salad was most flavorful at room temperature.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on December 29, 2004

      Wonderful, wonderful, wonderful. I made this for a bridal shower and everyone asked for the recipe. I added some shredded lettuce to add more volume. Next time I'll add some shredded cabbage.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    « Previous 1 Next »

    Advertisement

    Nutritional Facts for Barefoot Chinese Chicken Salad

    Serving Size: 1 (163 g)

    Servings Per Recipe: 12

    Amount Per Serving
    % Daily Value
    Calories 377.4
     
    Calories from Fat 294
    78%
    Total Fat 32.7 g
    50%
    Saturated Fat 5.4 g
    27%
    Cholesterol 30.9 mg
    10%
    Sodium 1114.8 mg
    46%
    Total Carbohydrate 7.9 g
    2%
    Dietary Fiber 2.3 g
    9%
    Sugars 4.0 g
    16%
    Protein 15.2 g
    30%

    Advertisement


    Food.com Network of Sites

    • Mexican Recipes
    • Chinese Recipes
    • Australian Recipes
    • Breakfast Recipes
    • Greek Recipes
    • Restaurant Recipes
    • Italian Recipes
    • Christmas Recipes
    • Thanksgiving Recipes
    • Southern Recipes
    • Dessert Recipes
    • Deep Fried Recipes
    • Thai Recipes
    • Low Cholesterol Recipes
    • Indian Recipes
    • Healthy Recipes
    • Meatloaf Recipes