Recipe Sifter

X
  • Start Here
    • Course
    • Main Ingredient
    • Cuisine
    • Preparation
    • Occasion
    • Diet
    • Nutrition
1

Select () or exclude () categories to narrow your recipe search.

2

As you select categories, the number of matching recipes will update.

Make some selections to begin narrowing your results.
  • Calories
  • Amount per serving
    1. Total Fat
    2. Saturated Fat
    3. Polyunsat. Fat
    4. Monounsat. Fat
    5. Trans Fat
  • Cholesterol
  • Sodium
  • Potassium
  • Total Carbohydrates
    1. Dietary Fiber
    2. Sugars
  • Protein
  • Vitamin A
  • Vitamin B6
  • Vitamin B12
  • Vitamin C
  • Calcium
  • Iron
  • Vitamin E
  • Magnesium
  • Alcohol
  • Caffeine
  • Find exactly what you're looking for with the web's most powerful recipe filtering tool.

    You are in: Home / Chinese / Baked Oriental Chicken Recipe
    Lost? Site Map

    Baked Oriental Chicken

    Average Rating:

    9 Total Reviews

    Showing 1-9 of 9

    Sort by:

    • on January 15, 2013

      I doubled the sauce quantity but otherwise did everything by the recipe. I was not too keen on the result - it was very salty, and the soya sauce taste was overpowering, even though I used the light sauce. Not sure what was wrong.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on April 11, 2010

      Absolutely lovely recipe. Didn't have star anise but used 1/3 tsp 5 spice powder. Did raise the temperature of the oven to 450. Cooked chicken skin side down 25 minutes then skin side up for 20 minutes.Came out very brown. Also, put some cuts in the chicken so more flavor was absorbed. Wonderful... will make again for sure.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on September 26, 2009

      I've made this twice in three days--my family loves it. It's flavorful and delicious. I used bone in whole leg quarters, ground ginger, cooking sherry, low sodium soy sauce, and dark sesame oil, but otherwise prepared as described. I increased the cooking time a bit for the larger bone in chicken pieces, which reduced and thickened the sauce a little. This will be in regular rotation for a while.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on March 22, 2009

      YUM!! This was very good and so simple to make. I was using Penzey's star anise and they say to use 1/2 of what the recipe calls for when using their spices. I used 5 pounds of chicken wings, doubled the sauce and add some cornstarch into the sauce after I had simmered the wings for 2 minutes as directed. Do not skip step 2. Simmering the meat for 2 minutes, helps the flavors penetrate the whole piece of chicken not just the outside. The sauce had sauce a nice flavor from the anise. I don't know that I've ever had this spice in an oriental dish before. I will definitely make this again. Oh yes, try serving the sauce over some hot rice, I think you'll enjoy that. Made for *Zaar Chef Alphabet Soup 2009* game

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on November 20, 2007

      KEEPER!!!! The aroma is awesome, the taste is wonderful--what more could you ask for? We loved it! Easy as all get-out, too! The only thing I did that wasn't in the recipe (as suggested by an earlier reviewer) was to double the recipe and sauce ingredients AND to make a cornstarch thickener so the sauce wasn't so watery. Mmm--mmm--good! Will be adding this one to my stash to share with our chicken-buying customers (I write a newsletter each spring when we send out order forms for our grass-fed, pastured poultry). Thanks WaterMelon for a GREAT recipe.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on October 29, 2006

      This one was a winner in our house. My only change from the recipe was that I used boneless chicken. I think it would have been better with the bone. Next time I will make double the amount as the crowds were clamoring for more and had to make do with the rice just with sauce poured over it.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on June 25, 2005

      This was a nice Asian way to cook chicken leg quarters. It was a bit salty, but that was probably my soy sauce. I didn't have any star anise, so I substituted about 1/3 teaspoon of 5-spice powder. I started a bit late, so I cooked the chicken a bit in the microwave first, then followed the rest of the recipe and cooked for about 30 minutes. Served over Asian vermicelli noodles and with stir fried cabbage. Very good!!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on April 16, 2005

      I used a whole chicken, cut up and removed the skin. I ran out of regular soy so used dark soy (less salty) and used only 2 star anise. Next time, I would add some cornstarch to have the sauce a little thicker. I very nice, tasty chicken dish.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on January 30, 2005

      This was fantastic. I used bnls/sknls breasts and it turned out great. I will try it again with bone in chicken as it does seem to make a difference in flavor. Thanks WaterMelon

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    « Previous 1 Next »

    Advertisement

    Nutritional Facts for Baked Oriental Chicken

    Serving Size: 1 (84 g)

    Servings Per Recipe: 4

    Amount Per Serving
    % Daily Value
    Calories 114.0
     
    Calories from Fat 35
    30%
    Total Fat 3.9 g
    6%
    Saturated Fat 0.8 g
    4%
    Cholesterol 57.2 mg
    19%
    Sodium 1399.7 mg
    58%
    Total Carbohydrate 2.9 g
    0%
    Dietary Fiber 0.3 g
    1%
    Sugars 0.4 g
    1%
    Protein 16.3 g
    32%

    The following items or measurements are not included:

    shaoxing wine

    star anise

    Advertisement


    Over 475,000 Recipes

    Food.com Network of Sites