22 Reviews

  • Most Helpful
  • Newest
  • Highest Rating

I am not a fan of shiitake mushrooms so I sliced up some onions & added those instead. The recipe is overall very good, and I liked the sauce with the exception of it being too salty. It may have just been the soy sauce I used but I think if I made this again I would use half as much as the recipe calls for. Otherwise the tofu and the veggies were delicious and I would recommend serving this with jasmine rice for a simple light and tasty dinner.

1 person found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
scrumptrulessence July 17, 2012

Lovely! The crispy texture of the tofu makes this a stand-out. I used Shanghai pak choi and dried shiitakes. I used unsalted homemade chicken stock. Good thing because it was on the border of being too salty - use a lower sodium soy sauce as well as unsalted stock if possible. But overall, a quick easy and delicious dinner, served with rice.

1 person found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Jenny Sanders March 24, 2004

Not a fan. I left out the fish sauce for personal preference, and perhaps that's why this really lacked flavor for us. But I don't care for the method of cooking everything separately- it takes forever to prepare and then the tofu and bok choy don't get to take on all the flavors.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
J-Lynn February 12, 2014

Both liked and disliked this recipe. The tofu and bok choy came out pretty well. I found the tofu kind of bland, but my wife enjoyed it. The problem was the sauce - it's possible I used the wrong kind of fish sauce, but the fishy smell and taste was extremely overpowering. I had to double everything else in the sauce recipe and then add ginger and garlic to make it palatable. With those adjustments, it came out to a pleasant meal.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Shylocke June 04, 2010

Very tasty! I would add a little garlic next time. Also, it should be noted that that if you plan to keep any leftovers the sauce should not be poured on top (the tofu will become soggy). I skipped the fish sauce and added a little sweet chili sauce instead of sugar. Delicious!

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Dominick & Amanda May 17, 2010

One of the best meals we've had off of Recipezaar!!! My boyfriend LOOOVED it. We followed all directions, selecting the low-sodium options where applicable, and it was salty-but-not-TOO-salty. Exxxxcellent :D

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
deepfryapathy January 08, 2010

I love this dish. I use low sodium chicken broth, dashi (instead of fish sauce), and added minced garlic to the sauce. I usually eat this with rice to soak up the delicious sauce. Thanks!

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
ChoCho May 09, 2009

This was incredible! I used 1 Tbs sesame oil and 1 Tbs veg. oil to fry the tofu because I love sesame flavor. I had some button and portabella mushrooms on hand so i used a mix of those instead. Also, I just omitted the fish sauce and used regular veg. broth and soy sacue and didn't find it too salty at all. I sprinkled a few sesame seeds on top to make it look even prettier. Thank you for sharing this recipe. Very, Very Tasty! :)

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
iheartsprinkles March 11, 2009

It was eaten but my DH still wished there was some meat in it. Great way to cook tofu and a beautiful presentation.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
lostcook January 27, 2009

Ah, now this was one of those recipes which I was enticed to make because Sharon's photograph was just SO seductive. And we were absolutely delighted with the dish when I made it. I used my Vegetable Stock, baby bok choy and several different varieties of mushrooms. I've always enjoyed eating baby bok choy but until now have never had a recipe that - as it were - really showcased them. I read all the reviews before making this recipe, and decided to use white wine in place of the fish sauce, which suited our taste preferences perfectly. Thanks for sharing this wonderful recipe, Sharon, which I know I'll be making again. Loved the bok choy, the mushrooms and the yummy tofu! And a great blend of flavours!

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
bluemoon downunder November 16, 2008
Baby Bok Choy With Mushrooms and Tofu