Recipe Sifter

X
  • Start Here
    • Course
    • Main Ingredient
    • Cuisine
    • Preparation
    • Occasion
    • Diet
    • Nutrition
1

Select () or exclude () categories to narrow your recipe search.

2

As you select categories, the number of matching recipes will update.

Make some selections to begin narrowing your results.
  • Calories
  • Amount per serving
    1. Total Fat
    2. Saturated Fat
    3. Polyunsat. Fat
    4. Monounsat. Fat
    5. Trans Fat
  • Cholesterol
  • Sodium
  • Potassium
  • Total Carbohydrates
    1. Dietary Fiber
    2. Sugars
  • Protein
  • Vitamin A
  • Vitamin B6
  • Vitamin B12
  • Vitamin C
  • Calcium
  • Iron
  • Vitamin E
  • Magnesium
  • Alcohol
  • Caffeine
  • Find exactly what you're looking for with the web's most powerful recipe filtering tool.

    You are in: Home / Chinese / Baby Bok Choy With Mushrooms and Tofu Recipe
    Lost? Site Map

    Baby Bok Choy With Mushrooms and Tofu

    Average Rating:

    22 Total Reviews

    Showing 1-20 of 22

    Sort by:

    • on July 17, 2012

      I am not a fan of shiitake mushrooms so I sliced up some onions & added those instead. The recipe is overall very good, and I liked the sauce with the exception of it being too salty. It may have just been the soy sauce I used but I think if I made this again I would use half as much as the recipe calls for. Otherwise the tofu and the veggies were delicious and I would recommend serving this with jasmine rice for a simple light and tasty dinner.

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on March 24, 2004

      Lovely! The crispy texture of the tofu makes this a stand-out. I used Shanghai pak choi and dried shiitakes. I used unsalted homemade chicken stock. Good thing because it was on the border of being too salty - use a lower sodium soy sauce as well as unsalted stock if possible. But overall, a quick easy and delicious dinner, served with rice.

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on February 12, 2014

      Not a fan. I left out the fish sauce for personal preference, and perhaps that's why this really lacked flavor for us. But I don't care for the method of cooking everything separately- it takes forever to prepare and then the tofu and bok choy don't get to take on all the flavors.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on June 04, 2010

      Both liked and disliked this recipe. The tofu and bok choy came out pretty well. I found the tofu kind of bland, but my wife enjoyed it. The problem was the sauce - it's possible I used the wrong kind of fish sauce, but the fishy smell and taste was extremely overpowering. I had to double everything else in the sauce recipe and then add ginger and garlic to make it palatable. With those adjustments, it came out to a pleasant meal.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on May 17, 2010

      Very tasty! I would add a little garlic next time. Also, it should be noted that that if you plan to keep any leftovers the sauce should not be poured on top (the tofu will become soggy). I skipped the fish sauce and added a little sweet chili sauce instead of sugar. Delicious!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on January 08, 2010

      One of the best meals we've had off of Recipezaar!!! My boyfriend LOOOVED it. We followed all directions, selecting the low-sodium options where applicable, and it was salty-but-not-TOO-salty. Exxxxcellent :D

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on May 09, 2009

      I love this dish. I use low sodium chicken broth, dashi (instead of fish sauce), and added minced garlic to the sauce. I usually eat this with rice to soak up the delicious sauce. Thanks!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on March 11, 2009

      This was incredible! I used 1 Tbs sesame oil and 1 Tbs veg. oil to fry the tofu because I love sesame flavor. I had some button and portabella mushrooms on hand so i used a mix of those instead. Also, I just omitted the fish sauce and used regular veg. broth and soy sacue and didn't find it too salty at all. I sprinkled a few sesame seeds on top to make it look even prettier. Thank you for sharing this recipe. Very, Very Tasty! :)

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on January 27, 2009

      It was eaten but my DH still wished there was some meat in it. Great way to cook tofu and a beautiful presentation.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on November 16, 2008

      Ah, now this was one of those recipes which I was enticed to make because Sharon's photograph was just SO seductive. And we were absolutely delighted with the dish when I made it. I used my Vegetable Stock, baby bok choy and several different varieties of mushrooms. I've always enjoyed eating baby bok choy but until now have never had a recipe that - as it were - really showcased them. I read all the reviews before making this recipe, and decided to use white wine in place of the fish sauce, which suited our taste preferences perfectly. Thanks for sharing this wonderful recipe, Sharon, which I know I'll be making again. Loved the bok choy, the mushrooms and the yummy tofu! And a great blend of flavours!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on August 02, 2008

      Terrific and healthy! It makes a pretty presentation served on a platter. I did use low-sodium broth and low-sodium soy sauce and the flavor was just right. I used shiitake and button mushrooms. I had to use 1 large regular bok choy instead of the baby variety. I will make this again with the cute little baby bok choy. Thanx!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on July 25, 2008

      I used part Shiitake and part straw mushrooms, which turned out great.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on June 24, 2008

      Love this recipe, its easy and delicious.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on May 24, 2007

      Didn't have fish sauce so I used Oyster sauce. This was really very nice. I used low salt versions of broth and soy sauce.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on May 12, 2007

      REALLY good. I left out the fish sauce and added raw cashews at step 17. Fed it to 2 meat-eaters who said it was the best meal they'd had all month. Thanks for sharing :)

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on March 07, 2007

      Great flavor! I fried my tofu nice and crispy, the sauce was delicious, and I love bok choi! This is probably as authentic-feeling an oriental recipe as I've cooked.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on January 30, 2007

      Yum!!! I reduced the fish sauce after reading that the recipe was a little salty, but other than that I followed the recipe exactly (except I did use ginger powder). My family didn't leave left overs and was asking for me to make it again soon. I definitely will!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on November 18, 2006

      This is really really good! I made it as written except for adding some sliced sirloin steak which I dregged in cornstarch and fried, same as the tofu. We DID think was too salty, but the fish sauce adds such a distinctive flavor that I don't want to leave it out...I think next time I'll try cutting down on the amount of fish sauce, use low sodium soy sauce, and use some homemade broth without salt.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on November 17, 2005

      Oh my gosh, this is such a great recipe. the cornstarch makes this a unique and exciting way to eat tofu. And the sauce is absolutely delicious! and the bok choy...can't say enough (other than make this dish! :)

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on December 12, 2004

      I don't think it's the soy sauce that makes this so salty. (I used half regular and half low-sodium soy sauce, and reduced-sodium vegetable broth). Fish sauce is really salty and 1/4 cup of it is a lot. Next time I would leave out the fish sauce and use wine or juice instead. This dish made me laugh. Reading it over, I'd been really surprised to see a traditional Chinese vegetarian recipe (well, it would be vegetarian without the fish sauce, which you'd be better off without, anyway) in Country Living, which I think of as such a meat-and-potatoes American magazine. That was because I hadn't clearly pictured the presentation until I had it on the plate. You end up with a little cutlet of tofu covered with a salty, glossy brown mushroom gravy, with a side of green vegetables and a side of rice or pasta. If that is what your family expects, this might be a good recipe to start them on tofu. It has lots of nutrients and it seems fairly authentic. (Except for the fish sauce. Is fish sauce even used much in China? Wouldn't wine be more traditional anyway?)

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    « Previous 1 2

    Advertisement

    Nutritional Facts for Baby Bok Choy With Mushrooms and Tofu

    Serving Size: 1 (300 g)

    Servings Per Recipe: 4

    Amount Per Serving
    % Daily Value
    Calories 273.3
     
    Calories from Fat 157
    57%
    Total Fat 17.5 g
    26%
    Saturated Fat 2.6 g
    13%
    Cholesterol 0.0 mg
    0%
    Sodium 1748.6 mg
    72%
    Total Carbohydrate 20.7 g
    6%
    Dietary Fiber 3.1 g
    12%
    Sugars 6.7 g
    27%
    Protein 12.7 g
    25%

    The following items or measurements are not included:

    vegetable broth

    vegetable broth

    Advertisement


    Food.com Network of Sites

    • Mexican Recipes
    • Chinese Recipes
    • Australian Recipes
    • Breakfast Recipes
    • Greek Recipes
    • Restaurant Recipes
    • Italian Recipes
    • Christmas Recipes
    • Thanksgiving Recipes
    • Southern Recipes
    • Dessert Recipes
    • Deep Fried Recipes
    • Thai Recipes
    • Low Cholesterol Recipes
    • Indian Recipes
    • Healthy Recipes
    • Meatloaf Recipes