Recipe Sifter

X
  • Start Here
    • Course
    • Main Ingredient
    • Cuisine
    • Preparation
    • Occasion
    • Diet
    • Nutrition
1

Select () or exclude () categories to narrow your recipe search.

2

As you select categories, the number of matching recipes will update.

Make some selections to begin narrowing your results.
  • Calories
  • Amount per serving
    1. Total Fat
    2. Saturated Fat
    3. Polyunsat. Fat
    4. Monounsat. Fat
    5. Trans Fat
  • Cholesterol
  • Sodium
  • Potassium
  • Total Carbohydrates
    1. Dietary Fiber
    2. Sugars
  • Protein
  • Vitamin A
  • Vitamin B6
  • Vitamin B12
  • Vitamin C
  • Calcium
  • Iron
  • Vitamin E
  • Magnesium
  • Alcohol
  • Caffeine
  • Find exactly what you're looking for with the web's most powerful recipe filtering tool.

    You are in: Home / Chinese / Awesome Sesame Chicken Recipe
    Lost? Site Map

    Awesome Sesame Chicken

    Average Rating:

    36 Total Reviews

    Showing 1-20 of 36

    Sort by:

    • on November 08, 2002

      Thanks for this recipe, we totally LOVED it. It was a little more work than I expected, but so worth it. I was a bit concerned about using that marinade coating as a batter for deep frying, but it came out fine, you get to taste chicken instead of tons of flour. I couldn't find the brown sugar, so I substitued w/a little white sugar and some honey. Once the chicken was fried, I soaked up all the extra grease w/paper towels and mixed it all in the pot w/the sauce and let it soak in for 20 minutes on low heat. Served with white rice and mixed chinese veggies.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on June 08, 2002

      Very tasty - I set up the chicken to marinate the night before, and also added about 1 tbs of sesame oil to the sauce. Letting the oil get very hot before adding each batch of chicken cubes helps them cook faster, which really cuts down on the greasy taste you might otherwise taste. Very easy to make, too.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on May 20, 2002

      Definetely a keeper. I probably wouldn't cook it everyday as it is alittle on the greasy side. but boy, is the sauce a killer or what! thx bratty, enjoyed it alot.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on August 11, 2005

      I loved the sauce and doubled it because I like it over sticky white rice. I hope you don't mind but I used chunks of cod instead of chicken. So it was actually, Awesome Sesame Fish. But the SAUCE is the dish and it was excellent.

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on August 20, 2004

      We dont have restaurants where we live and boy does this taste like I remember it! I didnt substitute anything and my kids get so excited to find that Im making that for dinner. It is a little time consuming but so worth it. We cook the chicken in our deep fryer at 340 degrees. We find that we now double it for leftovers the nextt day. It heats up great in the microwave Thanks!

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on September 26, 2012

      Lovely, with a lot of flavor (I added some Szechuan peppers) But the basic recipe is easy and I combined it with an Asian eggplant recipe (as a side dish) served over rice. Great!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on May 18, 2012

      Delicious. DD and I made this last night for dinner and we enjoyed it very much. The chicken fried up really nice with the marinade. The only thing I did differently was after the chicken was made I drained the oil and but the sauce ingredients into the wok, heated it up with a slurry of cornstarch and water and thickened it up. I then added the meat, mixed it up and then topped with toasted sesame seeds. Great recipe, thank you for sharing with us.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on January 25, 2011

      I have made this for my family several times and we absolutely love it! Whenever I get a Chinese food craving this is my go to recipe. Thank you for posting!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on June 24, 2010

      Made this for dinner tonight. It was excellent! I can't wait to make it again and really perfect it.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on June 17, 2010

      Awesome indeed! Chicken was tender on the inside with a great crispness and flavor on the crust. The sauce was beautiful as well and a perfect consistency. Only change I made was to stir the sesame seeds through the sauce rather than use as a garnish, just a personal preference because I like them better once they've taken up a little moisture. We really enjoyed this served along with some fried rice I cooked in the wok after leaving just a little of the peanut oil after cooking the chicken.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on January 23, 2010

      REVIEW FOR SAUCE ONLY. I thought this sauce was good but too sweet, and too hoisin-y. I added about a tablespoon of rice vinegar for tang. I also added red pepper flakes and Srirarcha sauce for heat- Sesame chicken is supposed to be spicy! I served this over steamed broccoli, green onions, and stirfried tofu. It was delicious!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on January 17, 2010

    • on November 25, 2009

      Amazing recipe!! I was unsure at first due to the marinade/batter combo, but it works great. I added extra red chili flakes to the sauce for some extra kick (we like ours spicy), but other than that stayed true to the recipe.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on August 17, 2009

      I think I would add sesame oil to the sauce, and add less sugar. This was delicious and my family inhaled it. I felt it made more like 6 servings, not 3. That includes a 20 year old boy who can eat enormous amounts of food. I served it with asparagus with shallots with a bit of oyster sauce over them, and with white rice. Yum.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on May 27, 2009

      I doubled this up for a chinese potluck and it was a very popular dish.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on December 12, 2008

      I made this last night and found it much too sweet for me. I would omit the brown sugar in the sauce next time. (There is already some in the marinade). The marinade I loved....the chicken was crisp and tasty. I mistakenly added the sesame seeds into the sauce mix before cooking, but it was fine. I will make this again...Donna

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on October 14, 2008

      I would give it a six star if I can! We enjoyed this last night for dinner and my kids wanted more!! Definitely a keeper!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on August 23, 2008

    • on August 07, 2008

      Great recipe, next best thing to restaurant stuff. Only downside is that clean-up is a pain. Once you get the ingredients you'll want to make it every week.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on August 09, 2007

      My family didn't like this. I have been trying for a long time to replicate the restaurant version. This is not it - I think too much hoisin and not enough sweet. Thanks anyway.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    « Previous 1 2

    Advertisement

    Nutritional Facts for Awesome Sesame Chicken

    Serving Size: 1 (543 g)

    Servings Per Recipe: 3

    Amount Per Serving
    % Daily Value
    Calories 784.0
     
    Calories from Fat 361
    46%
    Total Fat 40.1 g
    61%
    Saturated Fat 9.5 g
    47%
    Cholesterol 186.0 mg
    62%
    Sodium 1704.9 mg
    71%
    Total Carbohydrate 36.8 g
    12%
    Dietary Fiber 2.3 g
    9%
    Sugars 16.0 g
    64%
    Protein 65.5 g
    131%

    Advertisement


    Food.com Network of Sites

    • Mexican Recipes
    • Chinese Recipes
    • Australian Recipes
    • Breakfast Recipes
    • Greek Recipes
    • Restaurant Recipes
    • Italian Recipes
    • Christmas Recipes
    • Thanksgiving Recipes
    • Southern Recipes
    • Dessert Recipes
    • Deep Fried Recipes
    • Thai Recipes
    • Low Cholesterol Recipes
    • Indian Recipes
    • Healthy Recipes
    • Meatloaf Recipes