Recipe Sifter

X
  • Start Here
    • Course
    • Main Ingredient
    • Cuisine
    • Preparation
    • Occasion
    • Diet
    • Nutrition
1

Select () or exclude () categories to narrow your recipe search.

2

As you select categories, the number of matching recipes will update.

Make some selections to begin narrowing your results.
  • Calories
  • Amount per serving
    1. Total Fat
    2. Saturated Fat
    3. Polyunsat. Fat
    4. Monounsat. Fat
    5. Trans Fat
  • Cholesterol
  • Sodium
  • Potassium
  • Total Carbohydrates
    1. Dietary Fiber
    2. Sugars
  • Protein
  • Vitamin A
  • Vitamin B6
  • Vitamin B12
  • Vitamin C
  • Calcium
  • Iron
  • Vitamin E
  • Magnesium
  • Alcohol
  • Caffeine
  • Find exactly what you're looking for with the web's most powerful recipe filtering tool.

    You are in: Home / Chinese / Authentic Chinese Fried Rice Recipe
    Lost? Site Map

    Authentic Chinese Fried Rice

    Average Rating:

    17 Total Reviews

    Showing 1-17 of 17

    Sort by:

    • on June 10, 2013

      Highly inferior recipe. When I lived near campus, a Chinese lady upstairs presented me with a HUGE box of instant rice. She said it was inedible, and also couldn't be eaten with chopsticks!<br/><br/>I don't know why anyone would use it. A 2-1 ratio of water to rice, brought to a boil, covered well and cooked, unmolested, on lowest heat (takes 17 minutes for me), and it's done, with little airholes that confirm it.<br/><br/>I ate this, and it tasted - okay. But it isn't even authentic, as it claims to be. Not with instant rice, for starters (which I didn't use). So I doctored it up.<br/><br/>Good fried rice has minced fresh garlic, minced fresh ginger and scallion rings, not onion. Peas and carrots are fine, but not essential - mushrooms ARE essential, as is some small-chopped meat or shrimp, stirfried with whatever other veggies are used. Some fresh scallion should be reserved to put on top when it's served. The egg is a good addition, but not made this way. It's beaten and made into VERY thin, small omelets, which are then chopped and added. The classic Chinese seasonings are: garlic, ginger, sherry or rice wine, and SOME soy sauce. Without them, it's not Chinese fried rice, period.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on August 24, 2009

      It's hard to imagine an authentic Chinese recipe using instant rice. Find an Oriental market to buy soy. Look for "light soy" (not lite as in lower sodium, but light as in color). Above all, use real rice. To steam, use the fool proof method of water to rice:2:1. Bring to a boil, cover and simmer under low heat - takes about 30 minutes. Let the rice dry and cool completely before using. You'll have a much better dish that is really authentic and you won't be wasting money on instant rice. I live in the Far East for 3 years and saw this dish cooked many different ways, with and without soy.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on May 20, 2007

      This was a GREAT dish with your Evergreen's General Tso's Chicken! Simple to make, even though it seems like a lot of swapping and transferring, it really isn't. This had great flavor, very similar to the ones at our local buffets. BUT, my 2 DS won't eat the rice at the restaurants, and they LOVED this rice! I did check my soy sauce before making the dish, and luckily I had the real stuff this time (I know after reading your note that I haven't in the past) and it does MAKE the dish. Thanks for posting even though there were already fried rice recipes on the site! You will ALWAYS be remembered!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on January 15, 2007

      Unfortunately, it is just another fried rice recipe. Coming from NY, with Chinatown right around the corner, it just doesn't compare. I'll just have to keep looking.

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on April 12, 2014

      AUTHENTIC Fried Rice- are you kidding me???? Instant rice? Where is the garlic, ginger, FRESH vegetables?? PLEASE!!!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on January 12, 2010

      We liked this recipe. I didn't use the instant rice, I used regular but otherwishe followed the recipe. I will continue to use this recipe. I appreciate this recipe being posted.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on December 30, 2008

      By far the best i have had at home.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on October 22, 2007

    • on August 22, 2007

      Very Good! I made this for dinner a few days ago and Hubby LOVED it. My children even ate it all up. I used regular rice (not instant) but did everything else as stated. It was delicious and will be made again as variety to plain rice!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on August 18, 2007

      I'm not fond of this recipe. I'm sure it is because I simply do not like that much soy sauce and I'm not a fan of instant rice either. The dish had a sweet taste that I wasn't expecting.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on August 06, 2007

      This was really good and I will make it often.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on August 02, 2007

      This is the most delicious rice I've ever made in under 15 minutes. I love this recipe. Now if only I could get Crab Rangoon to fry without exploding.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on June 30, 2007

      I have been making many of Amy's recipe lately and this is wonderful, we have this at least once aweek and it's perfect. I took leftovers to work and people thought it was from a takeaway.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on March 22, 2007

      Amy, this was wonderful ! I recently tried to get picky DD to try fried rice from the Chinese ( she out and out refuses plain rice and she hates all types of sauce) and she stunned us by saying she quite liked it…I wanted to switch as fast as possible to a homemade recipe so that I could eliminate the evil MSG that they seem to throw into everything. Fried rice here in NL doesn’t usually have carrots in it, hence I left them out of mine and I did sneak in a small amount of VERY finely chopped onion which I sauted first… the great news is that DD actually ate some! Restaurant fried rice here also has meat in it ( finely chopped ham usually)… and I made mine with chopped up fried bacon since I had no ham left. This was easy to make and a total success in that DD ate several spoonfuls , (minor miracle) so please see my rating system, a fabulous 5 stars! A winner that will be repeated at our table often. Thanks!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on November 30, 2006

      This was super fast and super tasty! Wish I'd doubled the recipe as our family of four could have eaten more of it. I cooked some pork while saute-ing the onions.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on March 10, 2006

      really good and really easy and a new family keeper. i used instant brown rice and peas instead of peas and carrots and tamari sauce instead of soy.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on October 12, 2005

      I would suggest using low sodium soy sauce.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    « Previous 1 Next »

    Advertisement

    Nutritional Facts for Authentic Chinese Fried Rice

    Serving Size: 1 (930 g)

    Servings Per Recipe: 1

    Amount Per Serving
    % Daily Value
    Calories 680.6
     
    Calories from Fat 276
    40%
    Total Fat 30.7 g
    47%
    Saturated Fat 4.4 g
    22%
    Cholesterol 105.7 mg
    35%
    Sodium 2074.8 mg
    86%
    Total Carbohydrate 85.1 g
    28%
    Dietary Fiber 3.0 g
    12%
    Sugars 2.0 g
    8%
    Protein 15.2 g
    30%

    Advertisement


    Over 475,000 Recipes

    Food.com Network of Sites