14 Reviews

  • Most Helpful
  • Newest
  • Highest Rating

Excellent and easy. Made this for my Poppie who has stage 4 liver cancer and is rapidly losing his appetite and strength. Very difficult to get most foods down him, but he lapped this up! Used low-sodium broth since he can't have too much salt, pinch less soy sauce (the salt again), a hefty squeeze of lemon juice, as that is supposed to increase the appetite and help with dry mouth, and used chives from my garden instead of green onions for less "mouth feel." Also added a pinch of turmeric for color and health properties. Thanks so much for this. It was a real treat for him and he doesn't get those much anymore.

3 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Gretchin' May 23, 2010

Sure this is good .I have not tried this one but being half chinese(cantonese) my grandfather use to make a version similiar to this . What youmight want to try is instead of using cornstarch use
a can or two ( depending on how thick you like your soup ) of cream style corn. If you live near an asian grocery store you might also want to pick yourself up some rice noodles .It is delicious in in .

1 person found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
tunzi December 08, 2010

Excellent and easy to make! You could probably add an extra cup of broth without noticing a difference - the two eggs provide a lot of egg threads. My wife and I both enjoyed this recipe.

1 person found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Jon G July 01, 2005

Who knew it was so easy to make at home! I made this for our Asian themed meal and we loved it. It was very flavorful and tasted just like our favorite Asian place. Thank you for sharing with us.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
mommyoffour August 27, 2013

Totally missed the part where the eggs were supposed to be beaten before added, but delicious nonetheless. Added garlic powder and onion powder.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
NCSouthernBelle December 11, 2011

On Pat's very tempting recommendation I made, thoroughly enjoyed and reviewed Asian Egg Drop Soup #22163 by Chef #27643. I had a big sandwich for lunch and needed a light supper so this was perfect! I hate to brag, but I made it better than the local Chinese restaurant nearby. :D

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
ElaineAnn September 27, 2010

I tagged this in January Event - Soup is On - on behalf of a friend who had been looking for such a soup (if it didn't work out with her for what ever reason I was going to make it myself - don't have that worry). She just raved about it - she scaled it back for a 1.5 serve but was wishing she doubled it and she reconned its simplicity just made it superb and a delightfully light soup which is a great starter to a chinese banquet. thank you MizzNezz, Made for January Event - Soup is On.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
I'mPat January 21, 2010

This is what I make when I need a quick soup. I had 1 egg to 3 cups of broth.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
littlemafia September 27, 2009

Delicious! So easy and so good! I didn't use the cornstarch and I used vegetable broth....but my husband and I loved it. Thanks so much.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Yaffa January 26, 2009
Asian Egg Drop Soup