Recipe Sifter

X
  • Start Here
    • Course
    • Main Ingredient
    • Cuisine
    • Preparation
    • Occasion
    • Diet
    • Nutrition
1

Select () or exclude () categories to narrow your recipe search.

2

As you select categories, the number of matching recipes will update.

Make some selections to begin narrowing your results.
  • Calories
  • Amount per serving
    1. Total Fat
    2. Saturated Fat
    3. Polyunsat. Fat
    4. Monounsat. Fat
    5. Trans Fat
  • Cholesterol
  • Sodium
  • Potassium
  • Total Carbohydrates
    1. Dietary Fiber
    2. Sugars
  • Protein
  • Vitamin A
  • Vitamin B6
  • Vitamin B12
  • Vitamin C
  • Calcium
  • Iron
  • Vitamin E
  • Magnesium
  • Alcohol
  • Caffeine
  • Find exactly what you're looking for with the web's most powerful recipe filtering tool.

    You are in: Home / Chinese / 10 Minute Szechuan Chicken Recipe
    Lost? Site Map

    10 Minute Szechuan Chicken

    Average Rating:

    18 Total Reviews

    Showing 1-18 of 18

    Sort by:

    • on April 15, 2003

      Triple yummy! Mirj, the flavor was delicious!!! I used veg. broth instead of chicken and served it over polenta rounds. I ate all the vegetables! Thanks for a keeper!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on June 03, 2010

      This recipe is a do again it was easy with a great taste. I did double the sauce may even triple it next time. I didn't like the cornstarch on the chicken.Next time I am going to cook the chicken and make a slurry of the cornstarch and chicken broth. I also added crushed red pepper for a little heat ,mixed up the peppers usinng a little red and a little green and added straw mushrooms and some broccoli. Yum... Yum ... will do it again , Thanks for sharing Mirj.

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on September 16, 2009

      Definite winner! Put some brown rice in the cooker first and then diced the chicken and garlic. While they were cooking, I chopped my veggies and measured out the other ingredients (just put everything into one big bowl as I finished with it). By the time I finished with that, the chicken was nicely browned so it was time pour in my big bowl of stuff and the whole thing was ready just as the rice finished cooking!A healthy and delicious dinner was ready in 20 minutes! I usually don't like the texture of meat when you coat it with cornstarch, so I just made a slurry with chicken broth and added it right before I added the scallions. I also threw in some mushrooms that I needed to use up and some sriracha sauce for a bit of heat. Right before serving, I sprinkled in some crushed dry roasted peanuts and some slices of lime on the side. Guess that didn't make it a real szechuan, more Thai...but it was delicious. Thanks for sharing, Mirj!

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on March 11, 2004

      Mmmmm...Mirj! This was GREAT. This is my first experience with making my own Chinese food, and admittedly, I don't have a wok, but it still worked great in my pan. I did omit the zucchini because they, like cucumbers, are ludicrously expensive here for a vegetable that is mostly water and isn't big on flavor. Anyhow, back from my tangent- this was great, easy, quick and did I mention great?! BF and I served it over rice and sprinkled some sesame seeds over the top. I was a little wary when I first saw the recipe. You see, I am hot-food-aphobic and the Szechuan title had me worried for a moment, but I saw that there aren't any dragon chilies or anything nuts in here (or anything spicey, for that matter) and that you said it was mild... GREAT, GREAT, GREAT. I WILL be making this again. Fabulous last-minute meal.

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on January 23, 2004

      Easy and tasty, a good combination. The prep does take longer than the cooking! The taste is mild and the presentation wonderful. Served this with rice. Thanks.

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on August 15, 2003

      We figured,it takes 15 minutes to prep it, 20 to cook it, but we ate it in 10!!!!! This was so good, the only thing WE needed to change was breasts to thighs, just a personal preferance.

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on July 25, 2012

      This was deeeeeelicious!! The whole family loved it! I'm not a zucchini fan, but julienning them and mixing them in this sauce helps disguise them for me. I will definitely be making this again!! Thank you!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on July 29, 2009

      This was really delicious! The best and easiest Szechuan I have come across! I tripled th sauce because I had several baby zucchini's that I cut into chunks and sauteed in advance with the red pepper. I removed them from the pan and then added the chicken, cooking until brown and almost done. I removed the chicken from the pan and set aside to ensure that it stays tender. I added the garlic along with 2 chopped Serrano peppers to the pan and sauteed a few minutes until browned. I added the remaining ingredients and simmered for a few minutes. I added about a tsp of cornstarch to 1/4 cup of water, mixed and put that in to thicken the sauce. Last, I added the chicken and veggies back to the pan and simmered a few minutes to reheat and finish cooking the chicken. I loved what the cornstarch did to the chicken when cooking it. I did not have carrots or green onions... you could add anything you wanted to this and it would be good. I was out of rice wine vinegar, so I used white wine vinegar and it worked out fine. The only thing that would be a nice addition to the sauce is a little ginger. Thank you Mirj... this is a true keeper!!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on December 04, 2008

      This is a tasty stir-fry, but lacked the heat I expect in Szechuan cuisine. I added red pepper sauce and enjoyed it with broccoli instead of zucchini, which is not in season now. That is the beauty of a stir-fry, almost all veggies work. I agree that the prep alone was 15 minutes as was the cooking, but we definitely ate it in less than 10! Made for Healthy Choices cooking tag, thanks for posting.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on November 01, 2007

      I'm so excited to be making these dishes for my husband - he loves Chinese and I hate paying for it! I doubled the sauce and added 1 1/2 tsp. of freshly ground crushed red pepper and 5 asian red peppers. I sprinkled with roasted peanuts at the end and it became our own Princess Chicken. My dh claimed the heat was "spot on"! Thank you so much for a great addition to our Chinese menu.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on May 31, 2007

      I made as directed except used lite soy sauce and cooked it for longer. Took awhile to get together, but cooked up in a snap. The vinegar flavor was definitely there, so if you dont like vinegar much maybe cut that back or put in more sugar (I love vinegar, so it was fine by me!) Thanks!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on April 06, 2007

      Very good chicken, I loved how fast and easy it was for such a great meal and it went beautifully with the rice. Thanks.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on September 26, 2006

      This was a nice combination of colors, flavors and textures. My only changes were to add in a chili pepper, a bit more stock and a bit more brown sugar. DH comment - "Excellent, excellent, excellent." Thanks! I'm always looking for good stir fry combinations.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on May 23, 2005

      Excellent! A very easy recipe that you can easily spice up if you prefer. I made as posted except I forgot to add the carrots and after it was cooked, I added some generous splashes of tabasco sauce. I served with fried rice and there wasn't a bit left after dinner. Thanks so much for posting a keeper, Mirj!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on January 29, 2005

      We really enjoyed this, and it is very easy. I left out the carrot & zucchini and added baby corn and straw mushrooms. I also doubled the sauce (due to the extra veggies). I will make this again for sure.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on August 16, 2004

      I don't know if the board took my last comments -- if they didn't, I'll repost. But I forgot to add that I served it w/chuka soba noodles and it was still quite yummy...

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on July 11, 2004

      This was really good. I added some red pepper flakes to make it spicier. It only took me 30 minutes to get this and some brown rice on the table. Quick, easy, and very tasty! Thanks for sharing!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on June 04, 2004

      5 plus stars!! This is wonderful! My husband really loved it and he doesn't like stir frys too much. The sauce was delicious! Thank you for sharing.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    « Previous 1 Next »

    Advertisement

    Nutritional Facts for 10 Minute Szechuan Chicken

    Serving Size: 1 (211 g)

    Servings Per Recipe: 4

    Amount Per Serving
    % Daily Value
    Calories 182.4
     
    Calories from Fat 57
    31%
    Total Fat 6.4 g
    9%
    Saturated Fat 1.0 g
    5%
    Cholesterol 37.7 mg
    12%
    Sodium 1142.9 mg
    47%
    Total Carbohydrate 15.4 g
    5%
    Dietary Fiber 2.4 g
    9%
    Sugars 6.8 g
    27%
    Protein 16.3 g
    32%

    The following items or measurements are not included:

    rice wine vinegar

    Advertisement


    Food.com Network of Sites

    • Mexican Recipes
    • Chinese Recipes
    • Australian Recipes
    • Breakfast Recipes
    • Greek Recipes
    • Restaurant Recipes
    • Italian Recipes
    • Christmas Recipes
    • Thanksgiving Recipes
    • Southern Recipes
    • Dessert Recipes
    • Deep Fried Recipes
    • Thai Recipes
    • Low Cholesterol Recipes
    • Indian Recipes
    • Healthy Recipes
    • Meatloaf Recipes